Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Gurgaon Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Elections Latest News And Updates

BJP Haryana Municipal Corporation Election Results: BJP Leads in All Five Districts in High-stakes Poll

Haryana Municipal Corporation Election Results: Counting for five municipal corporations and two municipal committees is underway in Haryana, with recent figures suggesting a lead for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Read More…

Live Update: Haryana municipal corporation Live Update: Haryana Municipal Corporation, Committee Results 2018

Live Update: 12/19/2018- 3:38:23 PM MC Winner Runner up Lead Margin Counting Status HISAR GAUTAM SARDANA (68196) REKHA (40105) 28091 WON KARNAL RENU BALA (69960) ASHA WADHWA (60612) 9348 WON PANIPAT Read More…

Gurgaon Lok Sabha Election Summary

Coming into renewed existence in 2008, as part of the Delimitation Commission of India's recommendations, Gurgaon Lok Sabha constituency has altered the political balance in the state of Haryana in this general election. AAP candidate Yogendra Yadav, a renowned political scientist and one of Kejriwal's chief aides, has won with a thumping majority. Rao Inderjeet Singh defeated his closest rival Zakir Hussain
of Indian National Lok Dal by a margin of 274722 votes. Yadav received 644780 votes. Rao Inderjeet Singh, now the BJP candidate, three- time MLA from Badshahpur, Rao Dharampal was the Congress candidate from this constituency while Zakir Hussain was candidate from Indian National Lok Dal. Sitting Gurgaon MP Rao Inderjeet Singh, who represented the Congress in the 2009 elections, fought the battle on a BJP ticket this time. The strong anti-incumbency wave hit Singh hard, as his support among Gurgaon's voters dwindled. Newbie Yadav, known for his commitment towards masses, campaigned hard raising questions over the declared assets of the Congress and BJP candidates from Gurgaon. Yadav hinted at the unholy nexus of the builders and politicians in Gurgaon, by claiming that these politicians were hiding majority of their assets, which amounted to hundreds of crores. Academic turned politician Yogendra Yadav campaigned on a door to door basis in this constituency, winning the hearts and minds of many erstwhile Congress and BJP supporters.

Congress pitched Dharampal against Singh, to cut into his vote share. Singh attacked Chief Minister of Haryana, Bhupinder Singh Hooda of the Congress, before shifting to the BJP. This angered the Congress who lobbied for Dharampal to ensure that Inderjeet Singh was defeated. In such circumstances, Yadav also hugely benefitted from the personal and political attacks of Dharampal against Singh. In this four- cornered political battle of Congress, BJP, AAP and INLD, Yadav cut into a prominent vote-share of both Congress and BJP. He also defeated the aspirations of INLD candidate Hussain, by also bagging a number of votes of the non-Muslims and the non-Yadavs in the constituency, who usually vote for INLD. Yadav's debut victory from Gurgaon has heightened the political prospects of the AAP as a whole.

Gurgaon is one of the 10 parliamentary constituencies in the state of Haryana, located in north India. This constituency first came into existence in 1955 and operated till the Lok Sabha elections of 1977, before which it was terminated.

Quick facts for Gurgaon

Assembly Constituencies 9
Ruling Party BJP
MPInderjit Singh Rao
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6645325799051244437
Polling stations1308

The Gurgaon Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 9) consists of 1,244,437 number of electorates in totality, of these 664,532 are males and 579,905 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. According to the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Constituencies Order of 2008, the parliamentary constituency of Gurgaon again came into existence in 2008. This constituency is politically relevant, not only in the state of Haryana, but in the larger politics of the country.  

The Gurgaon constituency was made operational by merging together four assembly segments of erstwhile Faridabad parliamentary constituency and five assembly segments of erstwhile Mahendragarh parliamentary constituency. The number of assembly constituencies of the parliamentary constituency adjusted as nine assembly segments, out of which Bawal and Pataudi assembly segments are reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled castes.  

The Gurgaon city which is an integral part of the parliamentary constituency is part of the administrative headquarters as well as the Municipal Corporation of the district. The district is one of the most advanced regions with a whopping population count of 15,14,432 people as per the 2011 census data. The economy of the Gurgaon parliamentary constituency thrives on a strong industrial base, as Gurgaon is known as the Millennium City, contributing to be rated as the third richest city in the country, by housing around 250 large-scale and medium-scale industries. Traditionally however, Gurgaon has been an agricultural district. This parliamentary constituency of Gurgaon has some renowned entertainment hubs across the city.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Gurgaon Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Gurgaon parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Gurgaon constituency is Shri Inderjit Singh Rao of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20149GurgaonGENInderjit Singh Rao M BJP 644780 Zakir Hussain M INLD 370058
20099GurgaonGENRao,Shri Inderjit Singh MINC278516Zakir HussainMBSP193652
19716GurgaonGENTayyab HussainMINC199333K. NarendraMIND131391
19676GurgaonGENA. GaniMIND88326G. Singh MINC87018
19628GurgaonGENGajraj SinghMINC112342Devi Singh MIND93924
1958By PollsGurgaonGENPrakash VirMIND94517M. ChandraMINC56554
19576GurgaonGENMaulana Abdul Kalam AzadMINC191221Mool ChandMBJS95553
19515GurgaonGENThakar DasMINC113269Jiwan KhanMIND36615

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Gurgaon Constituency

Name of MP Rao Inderjit Singh
Age 68
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification ISC: Lawrence School, Sanawar (HP)
Activities of Rao Inderjit Singh in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 46
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Gurgaon Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Gurgaon parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Bawal Rewari Pataudi
Badshahpur Gurgaon Sohna
Nuh Ferozepur Jhirka Punahana

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency