Track your constituency

Live News

Serampore Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Serampore Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Kalyan BanerjeeAll India Trinamool Congress637231047663770745.5Winner
Debjit SarkarBharatiya Janata Party538273089853917138.471st Runner-up
Tirthankar RayCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)152050023115228110.862nd Runner-up
Debabrata BiswasIndian National Congress32474035325092.323rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above20486015205011.464th Runner-up
Mangal SarkarIndependent50920050920.365th Runner-up
Swapan MannaIndependent42570042570.36th Runner-up
Lachman RajakBahujan Samaj Party25890425930.187th Runner-up
Avash MunshiIndependent22700222720.168th Runner-up
Pradyut ChowdhuriSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)18860018860.139th Runner-up
Prabhash Chandra KarRashtriya Janadhikar Suraksha Party17720017720.1310th Runner-up
Kashinath MurmuIndian Unity Centre16620216640.1211th Runner-up

West Bengal has 42 parliamentary constituencies one of which is the Serampore Lok Sabha Constituency, formed prior to the elections of 1951 and currently has over 1,396,000 voters. The Serampore Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 27) has a total of 1,395,570 electorates out of which 660,050 are females and 735,520 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It comprises of seven Vidhan Sabha segments, five of which are in Hoogly District and the other two are in the Howrah District. Serampore or Serampore is a town in the Hoogly District, under the Kolkata Metropolitan Area with an elevation of 17 m, located on the banks of the River Hoogly. Bengali and English are the prevalent languages here.

According to the India 2001 census reports, the town has a population of over 198,000 with 53% males and 47% females. 8% of the population is under the age of six and the sex ratio is 958 males per 1000 males. The average literacy rate of the town is 77%, with male literacy rate at 81% and female literacy rate at 73%. Several important schools and colleges are located here, offering education in English and Bengali mediums. Tourism, agriculture and fishing are important economic activities of the people of the area. The jute industry is also very well developed here. The district is linked to the Grand Trunk Road as well as the National Highway NH-6.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Serampore Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Serampore parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Serampore constituency is Shri Kalyan Banerjee of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201427SeramporeGENKalyan BanerjeeMAITC514933Tirthankar RayMCPM362407
200927SeramporeGENBanerjee,Shri Kalyan MAITC569725Santasri ChatterjeeMCPM432535
200426SeramporeGENSantasri ChatterjeeMCPM404082Akbar Ali KhandokerMAITC384395
199926SeramporeGENAkbor Ali KhandokerMAITC411406Sudarsan Roy ChaudhuryMCPM363642
199826SeramporeGENAkbor Ali KhandokerMWBTC439269Sudarsan Ray ChaudhuriMCPM394658
199626SeramporeGENPradip BhattacharyaMINC449205Sudarsan Roy ChaudhuriMCPM443742
199126SeramporeGENSudarsan Roy ChowdhuryMCPM366535Bimalkanti GhoshMINC322038
198926SeramporeGENSudarsan Ray ChowdhuriMCPM426994Bimal Kanti GhoshMINC360536
198426SeramporeGENBimal Kanti GhoshMINC338152Ajit BagMCPM307921
1981Bye PolSeramporeGENAjit BegMCPM265372S.M.RoyMINC(I)168823
198026SeramporeGENDinen BhattacharyaMCPM292993Gopal Das NagMINC(I)186886
197726SeramporeGENDinen BhattacharyaMCPM260071Jadu Gopal SenMCPI120256
197124SeramporeGENDinendra Nath BhattacharyyaMCPM167530Jadu Gopal Sen MCPI105072
196724SeramporeGENB. GhoshMINC160662D. N. BhattacharyaMCPM137826
196222SeramporeGENDinendra Nath BhattacharyaMCPI172992Jitendra Nath Lahiri MINC162130
195713SeramporeGENJitendra Nath LahiriMINC125798Tusar Chattopadhyay MCPI120264
195114SeramporeGENTusar Kanti ChattopadhyayaMCPI77734Sachindra Chaudhuri MINC68798

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Serampore Constituency

Name of MP Shri Kalyan Banerjee
Age 61
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Com., LL.B
Activities of Shri Kalyan Banerjee in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 40
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 65
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Serampore Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Serampore parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on June 28, 2019