Track your constituency

Live News

Purulia Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

BJP - Delhi Elections 2020 BJP Announces Candidates for 57 Constituencies of Delhi

After long contemplation, Bharatiya Janata Party has declared its Delhi List of Candidates. This list contains the candidates for 57 seats of the Delhi Assembly Election 2020. There are 11 Read More…

AAP - BJP - INC - Delhi Elections 2020 Is It a Triangular Fight or Just AAP vs BJP in Delhi?

The political whirlwind of Delhi mostly revolves around only three political parties. AAP, BJP, and INC are the only candidates making headlines about Delhi’s politics. Although the Congress’s Sheila Dikshit Read More…

AAP Candidate List Delhi 2020 AAP Announces List of Candidates for Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), on Monday, released its list of candidates on all of 70 constituencies for the upcoming Delhi Assembly Elections 2020. The National Capital Territory of Delhi Read More…

AAP Achievements Analysis: Will Achievements of Kejriwal Government Help it to Return to Power?

Back in 2015, Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party had sent a shockwave in Indian politics by winning 67 out of 70 seats of the Delhi Assembly. The stakes were high Read More…

Silence of Kejriwal Silence of Arvind Kejriwal since past 2 years

The chief minister of our capital city, Mr. Arvind Kejriwal has always been one of the bluntest and most outspoken political leaders of our country. The former bureaucrat turned politician Read More…

Jharkhand Election Results 2019 Analysis: Jharkhand’s Verdict of Assembly Election 2019

The JMM led coalition had maintained a lead in the vote-counting since the morning while many BJP candidates including CM Raghubar Das trailed. The coalition started celebrating by the afternoon Read More…

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Purulia Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Jyotirmay Singh MahatoBharatiya Janata Party6660160209166810749.3Winner
Dr. Mriganka MahatoAll India Trinamool Congress462785059046337534.191st Runner-up
Nepal MahataIndian National Congress843660111844776.232nd Runner-up
Bir Singh MahatoAll India Forward Bloc682930141684345.053rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above11304018113220.844th Runner-up
Anandi TuduBahujan Samaj Party11180022112020.835th Runner-up
Mrityunjoy MahatoIndependent1033402103360.766th Runner-up
Sekh FatikBharatiya Nyay-Adhikar Raksha Party77770077770.577th Runner-up
Barjuram Singh SardarIndependent65120465160.488th Runner-up
Uttam TantubayBharateeya Manavadhikar Party60310060310.459th Runner-up
Rangalal KumarSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)43630643690.3210th Runner-up
Uma Charan MahatoIndependent38750138760.2911th Runner-up
Laxmikanta MahataAmra Bangalee34990435030.2612th Runner-up
Jawaharlal MahatoMulnibasi Party Of India24500224520.1813th Runner-up
Dipendu MahatoJharkhand Mukti Morcha17960217980.1314th Runner-up
Rajib MahatoShivsena16610016610.1215th Runner-up

Purulia Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the 42 parliamentary constituencies of the state of West Bengal. The total number of electorates in the Purulia Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 35) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,257,799 of which 649,056 are males and 608,743 are females. It was formed prior to the 1951 elections and comprises of seven segments. The city of Purulia lies on the northern banks of Kasai River and is well known for its landscapes. It is also the location of the district headquarters of Purulia District. The district stands at an average elevation of 228m and covers an area of over 6,000 sq km.

Purulia City has a population of over 290,000 with around 10% population below the age of six. About 52% of the population is male and the sex ratio of the area is 955 females for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Purulia is around 65%. This city has numerous schools and colleges and is the home of the famous St. Xavier School. This city is famous for its Chhau dance and is an important tourist destination and has various waterfalls and hills. Due to high amount of iron in the soil, the major industries in the area are that of steel, cement and power. It is well connected to the cities around through rail and road. National Highway NH-32 and various state highways connect the city to nearby cities.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Purulia Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Purulia parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Purulia constituency is Dr. Mriganka Mahato of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201435PuruliaGENDr. Mriganka MahatoMAITC468277Narahari MahatoMAIFB314400
200935PuruliaGENMahato,Shri Narahari MAIFB399201Shantiram MahatoMINC379900
2006Bye PolPuruliaGENNarahari MahatoMAIFB378501Shantiram Mahato MINC291468
200434PuruliaGENBir Singh MahatoMAIFB341057Shantiram MahatoMINC195339
199934PuruliaGENBirsingh MahatoMFBL351143Tapati MahatoMBJP176273
199834PuruliaGENBir Singh Mahat0MFBL376313Nepal MahataMINC219176
199634PuruliaGENBir Sing MahatoMFBL375559Gobinda MukherjeeMINC265689
199134PuruliaGENChitta Ranjan MahataMFBL336105Sanat MukherjeeMINC210165
1991Bye PolPuruliaGENB. MahatoMFBL356604K.P.S.DeoMINC222868
198934PuruliaGENChitta Ranjan MahataMFBL379191Sitaram MahatoMINC240296
198434PuruliaGENChittaranjan MahataMFBL261460K.P. Singh DeoMINC247709
198034PuruliaGENChitta Ranjan MahataMFBL227453Ram Pada SinghaMINC(I)122561
197734PuruliaGENChittaranjan MahataMFBL200985Pashupati MahatoMINC84433
197132PuruliaGENDebendra Nath MahataMINC130264Bhajahari Mahato MLSS54221
196732PuruliaGENB. MahatoMIND120189S. Mahato MINC88784
196229PuruliaGENBhajahari MahatoMLSS68295Sagar Chandra MahatoMINC60882
195710PuruliaGENBibhuti Bhusan Das GuptaMIND75890Mahato Nagendra Nath Singh DeoMINC56698

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Purulia Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Purulia parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Purulia Manbazar (ST)Kashipur
Para (SC) 

Last Updated on June 28, 2019