Track your constituency

Live News

Murshidabad Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Murshidabad Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Abu Taher KhanAll India Trinamool Congress604024032260434641.57Winner
Abu Hena, S/O - Late Abdus SattarIndian National Congress3777210208377929261st Runner-up
Humayun KabirBharatiya Janata Party2467450106424780917.052nd Runner-up
Badaruddoza KhanCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)180662013118079312.443rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above15012013150251.034th Runner-up
Humayun Kabir SekhIndependent71780271800.495th Runner-up
Kamarujjaman (Bakul) KhandekarSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)56490656550.396th Runner-up
Mijanul HaqueBahujan Samaj Party450901245210.317th Runner-up
Md. Jalaluddin MondalIndependent40400040400.288th Runner-up
Md. Habibur RahamanJamat-E-Seratul Mustakim28360328390.29th Runner-up
Abu Hena, S/O - Sazzad AliIndependent25000325030.1710th Runner-up
Dhananjoy SarkarBahujan Mukti Party11070811150.0811th Runner-up

The Lok Sabha Constituency of Murshidabad is one of West Bengal's 42 parliamentary constituencies and has six Vidhan Sabha segments. The Murshidabad Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 11) consists of 1,192,899 number of electorates in totality, of these 622,002 are males and 570,897 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It was formed in the year 1951 and has over 1,052,000 voters. Murshidabad District is the 9th most populated district of India and its headquarters is located in Baharampur. Murshidabad was the earlier seat of power of the Bengal Nawabs. It is bordered by the Malda District on the north. Bangladesh lies to its east. The total area is 5,320 sq km and the total population is over 7,100,000.

There is a 52% male majority in the area and a district has a population density of 1,334 people per sq km. The sex ratio is 957 females per 1000 males and the average literacy rate is 68%. The district has a 64% Muslim majority. Bengali, Urdu, Hindi and English are widely spoken here. Agriculture and tourism are the major economic activities of the area. Cultivation of crops like wheat, rice and mangoes are common here. It receives the financial aid from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme as it is one of the 250 most backward districts of the country. The road and rail network are connect the district to nearby cities.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Murshidabad Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Murshidabad parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Murshidabad constituency is Shri Badaruddoza Khan of CPM.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201411MurshidabadGENBadaruddoza KhanMCPM426947Abdul Mannan HossainMINC408494
200911MurshidabadGENHossain,Shri Abdul Mannan MINC496348Anisur Rahaman SarkarMCPM460701
20049MurshidabadGENAbdul Mannan HossainMINC461895Moinul Hassan AhamedMCPM446415
19999MurshidabadGENMoinul HassanMCPM391366Mannan HossainMINC268006
19989MurshidabadGENMoinul HassanMCPM463401Anarul Hossain KhanMINC272935
19969MurshidabadGENMasudal Hossain SyedMCPM452273Anarul Hossain KhanMINC415088
19919MurshidabadGENMasudal Hossain SyedMCPM382003Ali Hossain MondalMINC269402
19899MurshidabadGENMasudal Hossain SyedMCPM368860Azizur RahmanMINC312316
19849MurshidabadGENSyed Musudal HossainMCPM316571Azizur RahmanMINC310309
19809MurshidabadGENMasudal Hassain SyedMCPM291325Abdus SattarMINC(I)222570
19779MurshidabadGENSyed Kazim Ali MeerzaMBLD140927Azizur RahmanMINC104838
1972By PolMurshidabadGENS.BadruddujaMIND177401M.K. Bakhas MINC133711
19718MurshidabadGENChowdhury Abu TalebMIND93716Syed Badrudduja MIND73334
19678MurshidabadGENS. BadruddujaMIND141402M. K. Bukhsh MINC126436
19627MurshidabadGENSyed BadruddujaMIND102067Abdus SattarMINC82231
19575MurshidabadGENMuhammad Khuda BukhshMINC85041Abu K. M. Zakaria MPSP80646
19515MurshidabadGENMuhammed Khuda BukhshMINC124892Dhirendra Nath RaiMIND52661

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Murshidabad Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Murshidabad parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on June 28, 2019