Track your constituency

Live News

Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Lucknow Lok Sabha Election Summary

Lucknow has been the Bharatiya Janata Party’s bastion ever since the tenth Lok Sabha election in 1991. BJP’s Rajnath Singh was the one contesting from the constituency this time. Contesting with him are Congress' Rita Bahuguna Joshi, SP's Abhishek Mishra, BSP's Nakul Dubey and AAP's Jaaved Jaffrey.

Rajnath Singh came out as a winner defeating all others in the polls.

BJP’s candidate Rajnath Singh won the election by a resounding 561106 votes, defeating Rita Bahuguna Joshi by a margin of 272749 votes. In third place, Nakul Dubey won a total of 64,449 votes.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee had been contesting from here since 1991 till 2004. In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, BJP’s Lalji Tandon won the elections with 2,04,028 votes (total votes being 5,84,051) & a vote share of 34.93%.

Congress’ Rita Bahuguna Joshi was the runner-up with 1,63,127 and a vote share of 27.93% followed closely by the BSP’s candidate Akhilesh Gupta with 1,33,610 votes and 22.88% vote share.

The 2014 Lok Sabha elections saw the highlighting of the issues like power cables issues, sewage problems, underground lines problems, water drainage systems, maintenance of roads and rivers and restoring of the civic order. Along with the above stated problems the development and growth of industries, employment generation, corruption issues, economic growth acceleration and the safety of women dominated the election manifestos for Lucknow in the latest elections.

Lucknow Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Rajnath SinghBharatiya Janata Party6278810514563302656.7Winner
Poonam Shatrughan SinhaSamajwadi Party2828580286628572425.591st Runner-up
Acharya Pramod KrishnamIndian National Congress1789040110718001116.122nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above7259015774160.663rd Runner-up
Amar Kumar RaizadaAkhil Bharatiya Jan Sangh20990521040.194th Runner-up
Ram Sagar PalAwami Samta Party123201912510.115th Runner-up
Sanjay Singh RanaIndependent980019810.096th Runner-up
Shamim KhanNagrik Ekta Party931049350.087th Runner-up
Jimidar Singh YadavIndependent857028590.088th Runner-up
RameshAll India Forward Bloc730097390.079th Runner-up
Professor D.N.N.S. YadavPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)666096750.0610th Runner-up
Avinash Chandra JainIndependent592025940.0511th Runner-up
Haji Faheem SiddiquiIndian National League569035720.0512th Runner-up
Girish Narain PandeSarvodaya Bharat Party565045690.0513th Runner-up
Ganesh ChaudhariSaaf Party506095150.0514th Runner-up
Kapil MohanMera Adhikaar Rashtriya Dal471034740.0415th Runner-up

Lucknow is one of the 80 parliamentary constituencies of Uttar Pradesh which came into existence before the elections of 1951 and has five legislative assembly segments. 1,653,123 is the total electorate count in the Lucknow Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 35). Out of these 889,363 number of electorates are males and the remaining 763,760 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. The city of Lucknow is the district headquarters of the district of Lucknow as well as the capital of the state. The district covers a total area of 2,528.07 sq km.

With a population growth of 25.79% over a decade, the district had a population of 45,88,455 in 2011. The city and the metropolitan population was 28,15,601 and 29,08,455, respectively. At an average, about 53% of the population comprises of males and 47% of females and about 12% of the population is under the age of six. The sex ratio is 917 females per 1,000 males. The average literacy rate of Lucknow is 80% with male and female literacy rates of 83% and 72%, respectively. Awadhi and Hindi are the most prevalent languages here.

It has several prominent institutions including IIM Lucknow and Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University. The City Montessori School of Lucknow is the only school in the world which has a Guinness World Record. It is the 6th fastest job yielding city of India and has a flourishing economy. NH-24, 24B, 25, 28 and 56 connect the city nationwide.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Lucknow parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Lucknow constituency is Shri Raj Nath Singh of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201435LucknowGENRaj Nath SinghMBJP561106Prof. Rita Bahuguna JoshiFINC288357
200935LucknowGENTandon,Shri Lal Ji MBJP204028Rita Bahuguna JoshiFINC163127
200416LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP324714Madhu GuptaMSP106339
199920LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP362709Dr Karan SinghMINC239085
199820LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP431738Muzaffar AliMSP215475
199620LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP394865Raj BabbarMSP276194
199120LucknowGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBJP194886Ranjeet SinghMINC77583
198920LucknowGENMandhata SinghMJD110433DaujiMINC95137
198420LucknowGENSheila KaulFINC169260Mohd. Yunus SaleemMLKD47140
198020LucknowGENSheila KaulMINC(I)123231Mahmood ButtMJNP92849
197720LucknowGENHemwati Nandan BahugunaMBLD242362Sheila KaulFINC77017
197119LucknowGENSheela KaulMINC171019Purshottam Das KapoorMBJS51818
196719LucknowGENA. N. MullaMIND92535V. R. Mohan MINC71563
196221LucknowGENB. K. DhaonMINC116637Atal Behari Bajpai MJS86620
195765LucknowGENPulin Behari Banerji MINC69519Atal Behari Bajpai MBJS57034

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Lucknow Constituency

Name of MP Shri Rajnath Singh
Age 67
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.Sc. (Physics)
Activities of Shri Rajnath Singh in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 101
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Lucknow parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Lucknow WestLucknow NorthLucknow East
Lucknow CentralLucknow Cantt

Last Updated on Sept 01, 2021