Telangana Fact File

  • The word Telangana, means 'land of Telugus'. It was a part of the erstwhile princely state of Hyderabad.
  • Telangana comprises of 10 districts namely, Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Medak, Nalgonda, Mahabubnagar, Warangal, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Adilabad and Khammam.
  • The state borders coastal Andhra, Rayalaseema, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Chhattisgarh .
  • It covers an area of 1.14 lakh sq. km, which makes it the 12th largest state in the country.
  • Hyderabad will be the joint capital of Telangana & Andhra for the first 10 years
  • Its 35.28 million population of Telangana makes it the 12th most populous state.
  • The two main languages spoken in the state are Telugu and Urdu
  • The region is situated at a high altitude in a highland area. Godavari and Krishna are the two major rivers flowing through the state.
  • Telangana Assembly will have 119 seats & the new state will send 17 members to Lok Sabha
  • The state contributes 60% of revenues of existing Andhra Pradesh. Majority of revenue comes from Hyderabad which is a IT hub.

Last Updated on June 2, 2014