Track your constituency

Live News

Tiruppur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

Paswan NDA Alliance Bihar Paswan Causing Trouble to Bihar NDA Alliance

Bihar Election 2020 is expected to take place around October-November this year. Before that, many political activities are taking place in Bihar. The recent one is the tussle between the Read More…

Most Powerful BJP CM Yogi Adityanath Yogi Is the Only Powerful BJP Chief Minister

Coronavirus pandemic is spreading in India at a faster pace. Initially, the center had taken things into hands. The Modi Government was at the forefront of the fight against the Read More…

Sonia Priyanka Rahul Gandhi Analysis: Congress Repeating BJP’s Mistake of 2008

Every newspaper and news website of India is now having a headline concerning India China border clash. The government is trying its level best to resolve the crisis as soon Read More…

Yashwant Sinha Bihar Elections 2020 Yashwant Sinha Jumps in the Bihar Election With a New ‘Front’

Former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha has decided to try his luck in the upcoming Bihar Election 2020. He had handled finance and external affairs portfolios in the Bajpayee government. To Read More…

Madhya Pradesh Cabinet 2020 Madhya Pradesh Cabinet Expansion, 28 New Ministers took Oath

After long consultations with the senior leadership, Shivraj Singh Chouhan has finally expanded his cabinet. 28 new ministers took oath today and it was administered by Anandiben Patel. She had Read More…

Cast Politics in Bihar Analysis: How Caste Plays A Significant Role For Bihar Election

India is going to witness a heightened political activity since the end of 2020. Mainly because the term of many state assemblies is going to expire. There will be Bihar Read More…

Formed post the Presidential notification of the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies of 2008, Tiruppur is one of Tamil Nadu’s 39 parliamentary constituencies. 993,758 is the total electorate count in the Tiruppur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 17). Out of these 508,808 number of electorates are males and the remaining 484,950 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It has six Vidhan Sabha segments and constitutes of 993,758 voters. It represents the Tiruppur District which is located in the western region of the state with its headquarters in the city of Tiruppur. Sprawling over an area of 5,190 sq km, it has a population of 2,479,052.

With a population density of 478 inhabitants per sq km, it had a growth rate of over 29% from 2001 to 2011 making it the 176th most populated district of India. The sex ratio is 989 females per 1000 males, with almost 10% of the total population being under the age of six. The average literacy rate of the district is 79%, male and female literacy rates at 86% and 72%. Over 61% of the population is urban. Tourism and agriculture are the primary industries here with a very developed textile industry. Several wildlife preservation centers are located here including a crocodile park. The State Highways SH-19, SH-169, SH-172 and SH-174 pass through the district and connects it to a large road network.

Tirunelveli Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Subbarayan, K.Communist Party Of India5057930293250872545.44Winner
Anandan, M.S.M.All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam414782057541535737.11st Runner-up
Chandirakumar, V.S.Makkal Needhi Maiam645380119646575.782nd Runner-up
Selvam, S.R.Independent43766050438163.913rd Runner-up
Jaganathan, P.Naam Tamilar Katchi420790110421893.774th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above21782079218611.955th Runner-up
Ayyanar, C.Bahujan Samaj Party73120973210.656th Runner-up
Rajkumar, S.Independent44790244810.47th Runner-up
Kathiresan, L.Independent34730334760.318th Runner-up
Jaganathan, P.Independent26750826830.249th Runner-up
Senthilvel, A.Independent18980118990.1710th Runner-up
Kumar, D.Independent15970215990.1411th Runner-up
Kanagaraj, P.Independent15190115200.1412th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Tiruppur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Tiruppur parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Tiruppur constituency is V.Sathyabama of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
200918TiruppurGENSivasami,Shri C. MAIADMK295731Kharventhan S KMINC210385

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Tiruppur Constituency

Name of MP Smt. V. Sathyabama
Age 46
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Gender Female
Educational Qualification M.A.
Activities of Smt. V. Sathyabama in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 84
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 336
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Tiruppur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Tiruppur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
GobichettipalayamTiruppur NorthTiruppur South

Last Updated on July 6, 2019