Track your constituency

Live News

Sriperumbudur General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

Sriperumbudur Lok Sabha Constituency is one of Tamil Nadu’s 39 constituencies. It came into existence in the year 1967 and has six legislative segments. The Sriperumbudur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5) consists of 1,201,237 number of electorates in totality, of these 610,711 are males and 590,526 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. With over 1,200,000 electors, it is one of the largest parliamentary constituencies of the state and represents the Kanchipuram District. Sriperumbudur Town is at a distance of 40 km from Chennai and is the birthplace of one of the most prominent Vaishnava saint. This is also where the former Prime Minister of our country, Rajiv Gandhi was assassinated. Previously known as Boondipoori, the city has an average elevation of 37 m.

As per the census of 2001, a population of just over 86,000 resides here with 50% each of male and female population. With 12% consisting of children below the age of six, the sex ratio here is 985 female for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate is 71% which includes 78% male literacy and 64% female literacy. The languages commonly used in the area include Tamil and English. Economically, Sriperumbudur is dependent upon agriculture, automobile manufacturing and several other small scale industries. Tourism is also a part of the economic setup. Sriperumbudur is connected to the National Highway NH-4.

Sriperumbudur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Baalu.T.R.Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam7907500253179328156.39Winner
Vaithilingam APattali Makkal Katchi284673065328532620.281st Runner-up
Sridhar MMakkal Needhi Maiam13538301421355259.632nd Runner-up
Mahendran.HNaam Tamilar Katchi848550124849796.043rd Runner-up
Tambaram Narayanan GIndependent41446051414972.954th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above23288055233431.665th Runner-up
Rajasekaran SAnti Corruption Dynamic Party1374006137460.986th Runner-up
Antony.MBahujan Samaj Party679301568080.487th Runner-up
Ayodhi LIndependent40460440500.298th Runner-up
Godwin Shadrach S RTamizhaga Murpokku Makkal Katchi35980135990.269th Runner-up
Palanivel.KCommunist Party Of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)26110726180.1910th Runner-up
Raja MarimuthuIndependent22680022680.1611th Runner-up
Vasanthi SIndependent20140420180.1412th Runner-up
Viruthagiri AIndependent17990118000.1313th Runner-up
Muthumaran KIndependent13710013710.114th Runner-up
Indian.P.N.K.Independent11840111850.0815th Runner-up
Anantharaman R KIndependent935069410.0716th Runner-up
Vaithiyalingam RIndependent883028850.0617th Runner-up
Sasikumar AIndependent803018040.0618th Runner-up
Singarajan S PIndependent738007380.0519th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Sriperumbudur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Sriperumbudur parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Sriperumbudur constituency is Ramachandran, K.N. Thiru of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20145SriperumbudurGENRamachandran, K.N. ThiruMAIADMK545820Jagathrakshakan, S. ThiruMDMK443174
20095SriperumbudurGENBaalu,Thiru Thalikkottai Rajuthevar MDMK352641Moorthy A KMPMK327605
20044Sriperumbudur(SC)Krishnaswamy. AMDMK517617Venugopal. Dr. PMADMK282271
19994Sriperumbudur(SC)Krishnaswamy, A.MDMK385558Venugopal, K.MADMK310556
19984Sriperumbudur(SC)Venugopal, K.MADMK326528Nagarathinam, TMDMK302733
19964Sriperumbudur(SC)Nagaratnam.TMDMK431919Lata PriyakumarMINC186208
19914Sriperumbudur(SC)Maragatham Chandrasekar (W)FINC400741K. SundaramMDMK220169
19894Sriperumbudur(SC)Maragatham ChandrasekharFINC387795Ganesan, K.MDMK233244
19844Sriperumbudur(SC)Maragatham ChandrasekharFINC332468Nagaratnam T.MDMK222994
19804Sriperumbudur(SC)Nagaratnam T.MDMK253912Jaganathan S.MADK171135
19774Sriperumbudur(SC)Jaganathan S.MADK239632Elumalai T.P.MNCO193700
19713Sriperumbudur(SC)T. S. LatchumananMDMK300663P. Kakkan MNCO200617

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Sriperumbudur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Sriperumbudur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Sriperumbudur (SC)PallavaramTambaram

Last Updated on July 6, 2019