About Ambattur Assembly Constituency

Ambattur is constituency No. 8 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. This open constituency is situated in Tiruvallur district. It is part of Sriperumbudur Lok Sabha constituency. This constituency was formed recently following delimitation in 2008.

According to the Election Commission of India, Ambattur has 2,64,990 registered voters. It comprises 1,36,076 male voters and 1,28,884 female voters.

In the 2011 assembly elections, this seat was won by the AIADMK. The winning candidate, Vedhachalam S., bagged 99,330 votes. His nearest competition, Ranaganathan B. of DMK, got 76,613. The winning margin was 22,717. The voter turnout was 70.59%.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Ambattur Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Ambattur assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
20118AmbatturGENVedhachalam. SMAIADMK99330Ranaganathan. BMDMK76613

Last Updated on May 13, 2016