Track your constituency

Live News

Salem Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

BJP CM for Delhi Elections 2020 Having No CM Face, Is It Possible for BJP to Take on Kejriwal?

The Aam Aadmi Party is outstanding amongst the other for Delhi Assembly Election 2020, for having a strong CM candidate – Arvind Kejriwal. Congress and BJP are campaigning without any Read More…

BJP - Delhi Elections 2020 BJP Announces Candidates for 57 Constituencies of Delhi

After long contemplation, Bharatiya Janata Party has declared its Delhi List of Candidates. This list contains the candidates for 57 seats of the Delhi Assembly Election 2020. There are 11 Read More…

AAP - BJP - INC - Delhi Elections 2020 Is It a Triangular Fight or Just AAP vs BJP in Delhi?

The political whirlwind of Delhi mostly revolves around only three political parties. AAP, BJP, and INC are the only candidates making headlines about Delhi’s politics. Although the Congress’s Sheila Dikshit Read More…

AAP Candidate List Delhi 2020 AAP Announces List of Candidates for Delhi Assembly Elections 2020

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), on Monday, released its list of candidates on all of 70 constituencies for the upcoming Delhi Assembly Elections 2020. The National Capital Territory of Delhi Read More…

AAP Achievements Analysis: Will Achievements of Kejriwal Government Help it to Return to Power?

Back in 2015, Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party had sent a shockwave in Indian politics by winning 67 out of 70 seats of the Delhi Assembly. The stakes were high Read More…

Silence of Kejriwal Silence of Arvind Kejriwal since past 2 years

The chief minister of our capital city, Mr. Arvind Kejriwal has always been one of the bluntest and most outspoken political leaders of our country. The former bureaucrat turned politician Read More…

One of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu, the Lok Sabha Constituency of Salem was formed prior to the 1952 elections and has six Vidhan Sabha segments. The Salem Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 15) consists of 1,171,839 number of electorates in totality, of these 596,384 are males and 575,455 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. The total number of electors under this constituency is over 1,171,000. Salem District lies in the western region of the state over area of about 5,237 sq km. It has nine talukas with its headquarters in the city of Salem. Tamil is the official language here with English being academically used.

As per the census of 2011 data, the total population of Salem District is 3,482,056 with a male and female population of 1,781,571 and 1,701,000 respectively. Over the last decade, the district has had a population growth rate of about 16% and currently has a population density of 665 people per sq km. The sex ratio here is 954 females per 1000 males and about 11% of the population is under the age of six. The average literacy rate is 73% with male and female literacy rates of 66% and 77% respectively. Economically, steel plants and mango cultivation are the primary economic setups of the district. The National Highways, NH-7, NH-47 and NH-68 pass through the district connecting it to nearby cities.

Salem Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Parthiban.S.RDravida Munnetra Kazhagam6024530384960630248.29Winner
Saravanan.K.R.SAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam4581180125845937636.591st Runner-up
Prabhu Manikandan.MMakkal Needhi Maiam584720190586624.672nd Runner-up
Selvam.S.KIndependent52252080523324.173rd Runner-up
Rasa.ANaam Tamilar Katchi337410149338902.74th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above169980132171301.365th Runner-up
Silambarasan.CTamil Nadu Ilangyar Katchi45610245630.366th Runner-up
Sivaraman.SIndependent42680542730.347th Runner-up
Sadaiyan.MBahujan Samaj Party352801535430.288th Runner-up
Manimaran.CIndependent19890219910.169th Runner-up
Natarajan.CIndependent16780116790.1310th Runner-up
Ravi.AIndependent15540215560.1211th Runner-up
Murthy Kamarajar.MIndependent14640114650.1212th Runner-up
Pravina.GIndependent14590214610.1213th Runner-up
Ahamed Shahjahan.MIndependent13670213690.1114th Runner-up
Tamilarasan.TIndependent11440411480.0915th Runner-up
Surulivel.N.KIndependent11010111020.0916th Runner-up
Mohan.PSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)776017770.0617th Runner-up
Madeswaran.SIndependent773007730.0618th Runner-up
Kalaimannan.CIndependent635016360.0519th Runner-up
Hariharan.KIndependent539025410.0420th Runner-up
Raja.AIndependent447034500.0421th Runner-up
Ramachandran.K.TIndependent438024400.0422th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Salem Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Salem parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Salem constituency is Shri Pannerselvam.V of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201415SalemGENPannerselvam.VMAIADMK556546Umarani. SFDMK288936
200915SalemGENSemmalai,Shri S. MAIADMK380460Thangkabalu K VMINC333969
200416SalemGENThangkabalu K. V.MINC444591Rajasekaran. AMADMK268964
199916SalemGENSelvaganapathi, T.M.MADMK363689Ramamurthy, K.MTRC338278
199816SalemGENRamamurthy K.MIND365557Devadass R.MTMC(M)229677
199616SalemGENDevadass.RMTMC(M)315277Thangkabalu K.VMINC194392
199116SalemGENRangarajanm KumaramangalamMINC406042Arthanarisamy K.P.MDMK123474
198916SalemGENRangarajan KumarmangalamMINC400936Karthikeyan M.MDMK159166
198416SalemGENRangarajan Kumar MangalamMINC359819Kandasamy M.A.MJNP123644
198016SalemGENPalaniappan C.MDMK233971Kamnan P.MADK207713
197716SalemGENKannan P.MADK254138Rajaram K.MDMK174534
197114SalemGENE. R. KrishnanMDMK230736M. P. Subramanyam MNCO175940

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Salem Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Salem parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Omalur Edappadi Salem West
Salem North Salem South Veerapandi

Last Updated on July 6, 2019