Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Surguja Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

The Surguja constituency in Chhattisgarh is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Tribes. Covering the entire district of Surguja, which is located in the northern regions of the state, this parliamentary constituency is one of the most politically volatile regions of the state, as it shares a fluid border with the state of Jharkhand, which has a heavy concentration of Maoists.The Surguja Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 1) consists of 1,306,822 number of electorates in totality, of these 667,665 are males and 639,157 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. Hence the Surguja District, which is one of the oldest districts in the state, is currently part of the ‘Red Corridor’. The city of Ambikapur is the administrative headquarters of the Surguja District. Eight Vidhan Sabha constituencies make up the Surguja constituency, out of which Pratappur, Lundra, Ramanujganj, Sitapur and Samri segments are reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Tribes. According to the 2011 census of India, the total population of the Surguja District is 2,361,329. Agriculture forms the backbone of the economy, as the region is covered with dense forests. The total number of voters in the constituency, according to the 2009 Lok Sabha election data, is 1,306,711.

Surguja Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Renuka Singh SarutaBharatiya Janata Party6624280128366371151.82Winner
Khel Sai SinghIndian National Congress504927091150583839.51st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above29253012292652.292nd Runner-up
Asha Devi PoyaGondvana Gantantra Party24439024244631.913rd Runner-up
Maya BhagatBahujan Samaj Party18489045185341.454th Runner-up
Palsay UranvIndependent940401094140.745th Runner-up
Ramnath CherwaShoshit Samaj Dal90560490600.716th Runner-up
Mohan Singh TekamShivsena71580371610.567th Runner-up
Guman Singh PoyaAmbedkarite Party Of India53860253880.428th Runner-up
Pawan Kumar NagBahujan Mukti Party41410241430.329th Runner-up
Chandradeep Singh KorchoRashtriya Jansabha Party37110137120.2910th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Surguja Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Surguja parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Surguja constituency is Shri Kamalbhan Singh Marabi of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20141Surguja(ST)Kamalbhan Singh Marabi M BJP 585336 Ram Dev Ram M INC 438100
20091Surguja(ST)Singh,Shri Murarilal MBJP416532Bhanu Pratap SinghMINC256983
20041Surguja(ST)Nand Kumar SaiMBJP357108Khelsay SinghMINC253656
199912Surguja(ST)Khel Sai SinghMINC297778Larang SaiMBJP236352
199812Surguja(ST)Larang SaiMBJP295452Khel Sai SinghMINC274832
199612Surguja(ST)Khelsai SinghMINC261213LarangsaiMBJP252442
199112Surguja(ST)Khelsai SinghMINC169908Larang SaiMBJP122916
198912Surguja(ST)LarangsaiMBJP206428Vijay Pratap SinghMINC132231
198412Surguja(ST)Vijai Pratap Singh MINC180878Larang SaiMBJP93708
198012Surguja(ST)ChakaradhariMINC(I)128284Larang SaiMJNP65995
197712Surguja(ST)Larang SaiMBLD165952BabunathMINC65769
197110Surguja(ST)Babunath SinghMINC78859Larang Sai MBJS54818
196710Surguja(ST)B. SinghMINC63385S. RamMBJS52958
196210Surguja(ST)Babunath SinghMINC43505Asan Ram MJS22228
195722Surguja(ST)Singh Maharajkumar Chandikeshwar SharanMINC151100Thakur ParasnathMIND39925
195722Surguja(ST)Singh BabunathMINC128227MikhelMIND38608

List of Assembly Constituencies in Surguja Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Surguja parliamentary constituency.

Last Updated on June 25, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit