Track your constituency

Medinipur Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Mamata Banerjee to Kick Off Lok Sabha Election Campaign on Women’s Day

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will kick off the TMC’s campaign for the Lok Sabha Electios on International Women’s Day on March 8, a party leader said Wednesday. Incidentally, Read More…

The Medinipur Constituency is one of West Bengal's 42 Lok Sabha constituencies and came into existence prior to the elections of the year 1951 and currently has a total of 1,262,983 electors. The Medinipur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 34) has a total of 1,262,983 electorates out of which 615,364 are females and 647,619 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It consists of seven legislative assembly segments, of which one is reserved for the ST category. Medinipur is a city and the headquarters of the Paschim Medinipur, located along the Kangsabati River. It is located at a height of 23 meters at a distance of 30 km from Arabari forest range.

As per the 2011 census data, the total population of Medinipur is about 170,000 of which 85,362 are males and 83,700 are females. About 10% is below the age of six and the sex ratio is 960 females per 1000 males. With an average literacy rate of 90%, the male and female literacy rates are 92% and 83% respectively. Bengali is the official language while English, Hindi, Marwari and Urdu are widely spoken. Several traditional and contemporary centers of education are available here. It features a mostly agrarian economy and also has many businesses in and around the town. Railways are the easiest mode of transport while several state highways connect it to an extensive road network.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Medinipur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Medinipur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Medinipur constituency is Sandhya Roy< of AITC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Currentr MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201434MedinipurGENSandhya RoyFAITC579860Prabodh PandaMCPI395194
200934MedinipurGENPanda,Shri Prabodh MCPI493021Dipak Kumar GhoshMAITC445004

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Medinipur Constituency

Name of MP Smt. Sandhya Roy
Age 77
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Female
Educational Qualification Under Matric
Activities of Smt. Sandhya Roy in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 1
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 2
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Medinipur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Medinipur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
EgraDantanKeshiari (ST)
Kharagpur SadarNarayangarhKharagpur

Last Updated on March 13, 2019