Track your constituency

Hooghly Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Top VIP Contests in Second Phase Top VIP Contests in Second Phase

A former Prime Minister, four Union Ministers, and several high-profile first-timers are among more than 1,629 candidates setting the stage for a number of riveting encounters in the second round Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Phase 2 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Second Phase Live Updates

Live Updates – Lok Sabha Elections Phase 2 7:59:13 PM Final Update for the Day – Final Voter Turnout State – Wise State Voter Turnout (%) Assam 73.32 Bihar 58.14 Read More…

Parliamentary Seats in Phase 2 of Lok Sabha Elections Parliamentary Seats in Phase 2 – Lok Sabha Elections 2019

The largest festival of the democracy is underway since last Thursday. The second phase of polling for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 began today morning. A total of 95 constituencies across Read More…

Assembly Bypolls Elections Live Updates- 2019 Assembly Elections and Assembly By-Polls in Odisha

Live Udates: State Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar informed that 64 per cent voter turnout has been recorded till 5 PM in the second phase polls in Odisha. 5:05:35 PM Read More…

Assembly Bypolls Elections Live Updates- 2019 Assembly By-polls in Tamil Nadu

Live Updates: Tamil Nadu registered 63.73 per cent polling for the 38 Lok Sabha seats on Thursday. Arani Lok Sabha seat registered 76.49 per cent turnout and the voting percentage in Read More…

Why Uttar Pradesh will decide the road to Lok Sabha for BJP in 2019 Elections BJP Might Lose 50-60 Seats in Uttar Pradesh – A Mathematical Perspective?

Lok Sabha 2019 Elections – the battle has already begun and parties are pushing hard to convert the rally crowd into votes. One common theme of these elections is Modi Read More…

Party Wise Candidate List for Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2019

Party NameLS ConstituencyCandidate Name
BJPHooghlySmt. Locket chaterjee
INCHooghlyPratul Saha
TMCHooghlyDr Ratna De Nag
CPI(M)HooghlyPradip Saha

The Hooghly Parliamentary Constituency is one of West Bengal's 42 Lok Sabha constituencies and came into being in 1951 and has 1,405,684 voters. 1,405,684 is the total electorate count in the Hooghly Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 28). Out of these 726,412 number of electorates are males and the remaining 679,272 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest.It comprises of seven legislative assembly segments, of which two are reserved for the SC category. The headquarters of the Hooghly District lie in the city of Hooghly and it has a total area of 3,149 sq km. The district comprises of four sub divisions and has an average elevation of 200 m. The River Hoogly flows on the eastern border of the district. The district has enormous historical and cultural importance.

As per the 2011 India census data, the total population of the district is 5,530,000 of which 2,814,653 are males and 2,704,492 are females. The population growth rate of Hooghly District was 9.46% from 2001 to 2011 and it has a population density of 1,753 persons per sq km. About 9.66% of population is under the age of six and the sex ratio is 961 females per 1000 males. With an average literacy rate of 81.80, Hoogly has male and female literacy rates of 87.03 and 76.36% respectively. Bengali is the official language here while English and Hindi are also widely spoken. The National Highways NH-2 and NH-6 are connected to this district.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Hooghly Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Hooghly parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Hooghly constituency is Dr. Ratna De (Nag) of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201428HooghlyGENDr. Ratna De (Nag)FAITC614312Pradip SahaMCPM425228
200928HooghlyGENDr. Ratna De NagFAITC574022Rupchand PalMCPM492499
200427HooghlyGENRupchand PalMCPM496890Indrani MukherjeeMAITC329924
199927HooghlyGENRupchand PalMCPM440674Tapan Das GuptaMAITC428189
199827HooghlyGENRupchand PalMCPM431229Tapan DasguptaMWBTC425113
199627HooghlyGENRupchand PalMCPM452353Gouri Sankar BanerjeeMINC413856
199127HooghlyGENRupchand PalMCPM383238Umasnkar HalderMINC327579
198927HooghlyGENRupchand PalMCPM423701Umasankar HalderMINC354154
198427HooghlyGENIndumati BhattacharyyaFINC320436Rup Chand PalMCPM309469
198027HooghlyGENRup Chand PalMCPM280605Santimohan RoyMINC(I)202212
197727HooghlyGENBijoy Krishna ModakMCPM223818Bishnu Charan BanerjeeMINC117559
197125HooghlyGENBijoy Krishna ModakMCPM202672Phani Ghosh MINC171201
196725HooghlyGENB. K. ModakMCPM198229P. K. Palit MINC188659
196223HooghlyGENProvat KarMCPI108359Nirmal Kumar Sen MINC105716
195712HooghlyGENProvat KarMCPI81329Sachindra Chowdhury MINC78356
195115HooghlyGENN. C. ChatterjeeMHMS71798Renuka RoyMINC66898

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Hooghly Constituency

Name of MP Dr. (Smt.) Ratna De(Nag)
Age 70
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Female
Educational Qualification M.B.B.S., D.C.H.
Activities of Dr. (Smt.) Ratna De(Nag) in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 93
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 229
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Hooghly Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Hooghly parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Balagarh (SC)PanduaSaptagram
Dhanekhali (SC) 

Last Updated on March 13, 2019