Balagarh (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections

About Balagarh (West Bengal) Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Balagarh is constituency No. 191 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is situated in Hooghly district and comes under the Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency. It is an open constituency.According to data with the Election Commission of India, Balagarh has 2,07,853 registered voters. It comprises 1,08,677 male and 99,176 female registered voters. The Trinamool Congress (TMC) secured a maiden victory in this constituency in the 2011 Assembly elections. Asim Kumar Majhi, the winning TMC candidate, got 96,254 votes. His nearest contender was Bhuban Pramanick of CPI(M) who got 74,671 votes. The winning margin was 21,583, that is, 11.74% of the total valid votes. The voter turnout was 88.48 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Assembly Balagarh (West Bengal) Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Balagarh (West Bengal) assembly elections conducted so far.
Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 191 Balagarh (SC) Asim Kumar Majhi M AITC 96254 Bhuban Pramanick M CPM 74671
2008 By Polls Balagarh (SC) Bhuban Pramanick M CPI(M) 60101 Ashim Majhi M AITC 51691
2006 188 Balagarh (SC) Dibakanta Routh M CPI(M) 69627 Asima Patra F AITC 51662
2001 188 Balagarh (SC) Dibakanta Routh M CPM 59376 Lakshmi Parui F AITC 53654
1996 188 Balagarh (SC) Dibakanta Routh M CPM 66182 Biswanath Malik M INC 51231
1991 188 Balagarh (SC) Abinash Pramanik M CPM 55281 Malik Biswanath M INC 38302
1987 188 Balagarh (SC) Abinash Pramanik M CPM 55068 Gopal Krishna Dhar M INC 38275
1982 188 Balagarh (SC) Abinash Pramanik M CPM 44695 Nilmoni Mandal M INC 31610
1977 188 Balagarh (SC) Abimnash Pramanik M CPM 28371 Gauranga Halder M INC 8291
1972 177 Balagarh (SC) Biren Sarkar M INC 26660 Abinash Pramanik M CPM 21880
1971 177 Balagarh (SC) Abinash Pramanik M CPM 22740 Biren Sarkar M INC 18778
1969 177 Balagarh (SC) Hbinash Pramanik M CPM 29264 Harekrishna Das M INC 19174
1967 177 Balagarh (SC) H . K . Das M INC 20183 A . Pramanik M CPM 20140
1962 159 Balagarh GEN Brindaban Chattopadhyya M INC 24823 Bijoy Krishna Modak M CPI 15490
1957 83 Balagarh GEN Bejoy Krishna Modak M CPI 17257 Brindabon Chattopadhyay M INC 16298
1951 108 Balagarh GEN Brindaban Chattopadhyay M INC 8807 Nirmal Kumar Sen M KMPP 5801

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates