Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Bankura Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

One of the 42 parliamentary constituencies of West Bengal, Bankura is a constituency of the Bankura district. The Bankura Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 36) has a total of 1,268,563 electorates out of which 608,017 are females and 660,546 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It was formed prior to the 1951 elections and has a total of 1,268,563 voters. This constituency comprises of seven assembly segments of which six lie in Bankura District and one is in Purulia District. Out of these seven assembly segments, two are reserved for ST and two for SC. The city of Bankura is the headquarters of the Bankura District. It lies is often described as the "connecting link between the plains of Bengal and Chota Nagpur Plateau". The city is around 100 Kms away from Kolkata. It stands at an average elevation of 78 m and covers an area of over 3383 sq km.

As per 2011 census, it has a population of over 3,596,000 with around 10% population under the age of six. About 51% of the population is male and the sex ratio is 954 females for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Bankura is around 71%. Bankura has a rich culture and it has recently gained popularity amongst the tourists from all over India. Bankura is well connected to several cities via National Highways NH-60 and NH-60A which connect it to major cities in and around West Bengal.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Bankura Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Bankura parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Bankura constituency is Sreemati Dev Varma (Moon Moon Sen) of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201436BankuraGENSreemati Dev Varma (Moon Moon Sen)FAITC483455Acharia BasudebMCPM384949
200936BankuraGENAcharia,Shri Basudeb MCPM469223Subrata MukherjeeMINC361421
200435BankuraGENAcharia BasudebMCPM417798Deb Prasad Kundu ( Tara)MAITC187469
199935BankuraGENAcharia BasudebMCPM381720Natabar BagdiMIND274722
199835BankuraGENAcharia BasudebMCPM369695Sukumar BanerjeeMBJP258112
199635BankuraGENAcharia BasudebMCPM420402Gouri Sankar DeyMINC191415
199135BankuraGENBasudev AchariaMCPM374058Brajabasi BiswasMINC191435
198935BankuraGENBasudeb AchariaMCPM381087Ashis ChakrabartyMINC256689
198435BankuraGENAcharia BasudebMCPM268136Arun Kumar BhattacharyaMINC243920
198035BankuraGENAcharia BasudebMCPM199557Singh Deo Sahankar NarayanMINC(I)155646
197735BankuraGENMondal BijoyMBLD175664Shankar Narayan Singh DeoMINC95587
197133BankuraGENSankar Narayan Singh DeoMINC81144Mahadeb Mukherjee MCPM55646
196733BankuraGENJ. M. BiswasMCPI120590A. Ghose MINC90820
196231BankuraGENRamgati BandopadhyayMINC74674Kanai Lal DeMPSP47230
195711BankuraGENPashupati Mandal MINC152687Biswa Nath BauriMIND83271
195711BankuraGENRamgati Banerjee MINC151001Bagala MandalMHMS82576
19517BankuraGENJagannath KoleyMINC108885Atul PatraMHMS90112
19517BankuraGENPashupati Mandal MINC96266Bireswar Ghose MIND58122

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Bankura Constituency

Name of MP Smt. Dev (Moon Moon Sen) Varma
Age 64
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Female
Educational Qualification B.A. (English), M.A. (Comparative Literature)
Activities of Smt. Dev (Moon Moon Sen) Varma in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 0
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Bankura Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Bankura parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Raghunathpur (SC)Saltora (SC)Chhatna
Ranibandh (ST)Raipur (ST)Taldangra

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency