Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Tiruchirappalli Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Tiruchirappalli Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the 39 Parliamentary constituencies of the state of Tamil Nadu, which presently comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments of which one is reserved for the SC category. The Tiruchirappalli Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 24) has a total of 1,067,193 electorates out of which 533,842 are females and 533,351 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It has a total of 1,067,193 electors and came into existence prior to the 1951 elections. The administrative center of Tiruchirappalli District is situated in the city of Tiruchirappalli. It is located at a distance of about 400 km from Chennai and about 80 km from Combaitore. The city lies at an altitude of 88 meters and covers an area of 147 sq. km. Tamil and English are the official languages here.

As per the census data of 2011, the metro of Tiruchirappalli has a population of 1,021,717 of which 507,180 are males and 514,537 are females. About 90,000 are children below the age of six and the sex ratio is 1015 female per 1000 males. The city has an average literacy rate of 91.20% of male and female literacy rates are 94.70% and 88% respectively. SCs and STs comprise of 10.5% and 0.44% of the population. Hindus have a religious majority. The city is a major retail market and is a leading engineering equipment manufacturer. The National Highways NH-45, NH-45B, NH-67, NH-210 and NH-227 pass through the city.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Tiruchirappalli Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Tiruchirappalli parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Tiruchirappalli constituency is Shri P. Kumar of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
200924TiruchirappalliGENKumar,Shri P. MAIADMK298710Sarubala.R.Thondaiman LalithaMINC294375
200427TiruchirappalliGENGanesan. LMMDMK450907Paranjothi. MMADMK234182
2001Bye PolTiruchirappalliGENDalit Ezhimalai R. MAIDMK 343874Sukumar M. N. MBJP326461
199927TiruchirappalliGENArangarajan KumaramangalamMBJP377450Adaikalaraj,L.MINC288253
199827TiruchirappalliGENRangarajan KumaramangalamMBJP305233Adaikalaraj.LMTMC(M)293778
199627TiruchirappalliGENAdaikkalraj.LMTMC(M)434149Gopal KMINC169441
199127TiruchirappalliGENL. Adaikala RajMINC414628T.K. RangarajanMCPM204922
198427TiruchirappalliGENAdaikalarajMINC337786N. SelvarasuMDMK234881
198027TiruchirappalliGENSelvaraju N.MDMK278485Rangarajan T.K.MCPM204886
197727TiruchirappalliGENM. KalyanasundaramMCPI276390Y. Venkateswara DikshidarMNCO200345
197126TiruchirappalliGENM. KalyanasundaramMCPI217677S. P. ThangaveluMNCO197127

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Tiruchirappalli Constituency

Name of MP Shri P.Kumar
Age 47
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Sc., B.L.,
Activities of Shri P.Kumar in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 36
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 408
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Tiruchirappalli Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Tiruchirappalli parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SrirangamTiruchirappalli WestTiruchirappalli East
ThiruverumburGandarvakottai (SC)Pudukkottai

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency