Track your constituency

Live News

Pudukkottai (Tamil Nadu) Election Results 2016

Latest Election News and Update

Police Officer Killed, Pentagon Shooting US: Police Officer Killed Outside the Pentagon Police Building

On Tuesday morning the Pentagon Force Protection Agency confirmed that a Pentagon police officer was killed in an incident at the Metro bus platform outside the building. The investigators of the incident believe that there was an argument in which the suspect stabbed the Pentagon police officer.  According to law enforcement sources, it appears that […]

Scott Miller, US Afghanistan News Gen. Scott Miller, Top US General In Afghanistan Hands Over Command

Marking a symbolic end to the 20-year-old war between the United States and Afghanistan, the top US Gen. Scott Miller in Afghanistan stepped down from his position at a ceremony in the capital Kabul. After the United States military withdrawal, the Taliban insurgents continue to gain more territory which will topple the central government in […]

Afghanistan, US troops to withdraw from Afghanistan The U.S Troops to Completely Withdraw From Afghanistan, Said Joe Biden

The United States mission in Afghanistan will come to an end on August 31, President Joe Biden said. The conclusion of the US military in Afghanistan will end the 20-year-old war.  Now that U.S. troops are almost completely out of Afghanistan the Taliban faction is making rapid territorial expansion in the country. President Joe Biden […]

Jharkhand Lockdown Extended till June 10

The Hemant Soren-led government in Jharkhand extended the lockdown restrictions till June 10 though there will be some relaxations in curbs.    The state has been in lockdown since April 22. The first set of lockdown regulations were imposed for a week since then it is the fourth time that the lockdown regulations are extended. […]

Google Doodle Commemorates American Gay Rights Activist Frank Kameny

Google Doodle commemorates prominent American astrologer and gay rights activist Frank Kameny. Frank Kameny was personally invested in the cause of the gay rights movement because of the prejudice he faced in his life.    Growing up during the great depression in the 1930s Frank Kameny realized he wanted to become an astrologer. He graduated […]

Joe Biden Tells Intelligence Community To Report On The Emergence Of Covid 19 Within 90 Days

The President of the United States of America Joe Biden called the US intelligence community to report on the origin of coronavirus. There are various theories circulating about the possible origin of Covid 19. Joe Biden asked the US intelligence to revert back with ‘sufficient information’ on the event within 90 days. The United States […]

Tamil Nadu Assembly Election Results Live


About Pudukkottai Assembly Constituency

Pudukkottai is constituency No. 180 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. This unreserved constituency is located in Pudukkottai district. It comes under Tiruchirappalli Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, this constituency has a total of 1,77,413 registered voters. It has 88,686 male and 88,722 female voters.

This seat was won by the CPI in 2011 assembly elections. Muthukumaran P., the winning candidate, defeated his nearest rival by a narrow margin of 3,101 votes. Muthukumaran secured 65,466 votes. The runner-up was Periyannan Arassu of DMK. The voter turnout was 79.05 %. Interestingly, the CPI lost this seat to ADMK in the 2014 by-election which was held following Muthukumaran's demise.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Pudukkottai Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Pudukkottai assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2011180PudukkottaiGENMuthukumaran.PMCPI65466Periyannan ArassuMDMK62365
2006191PudukkottaiGENNedunchezhian, RMAIADMK64319Jaffarali, M.MDMK62369
2001191PudukkottaiGENDr. Vijayabasker.CMADMK77627Periyannan ArasuMDMK49444
1997By PollsPudukkottaiGENMari Ayya P. MDMK 57769Chelladhurai S. MADMK 45745
1996191PudukkottaiGENPeriannan A.MDMK79205Swaminathan S.C.MINC36422
1991191PudukkottaiGENSwaminathan C.MINC82205Mani V. N.MDMK38806
1989191PudukkottaiGENPeriyannan A.MDMK45534Erama VeerappanMADK(JR)26254
1984191PudukkottaiGENJ.Mohamed GaniMINC63877K.R. SubbiahMCPI26214
1980191PudukkottaiGENRajkumar Vijaya RegunathathondaimanMINC(I)47660Subbiah, K. R.MCPI46387
1977191PudukkottaiGENR. Rajkumar Vijaya RaghunathatondamanMINC36406C. AnbarasanMADK19352
1971168PudukkottaiGENSathiamoorthy M.MNCO34680Subbaiah KrMCPI33393

Last Updated on May 13, 2016