Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Ambala Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Elections Latest News And Updates

BJP Haryana Municipal Corporation Election Results: BJP Leads in All Five Districts in High-stakes Poll

Haryana Municipal Corporation Election Results: Counting for five municipal corporations and two municipal committees is underway in Haryana, with recent figures suggesting a lead for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Read More…

Live Update: Haryana municipal corporation Live Update: Haryana Municipal Corporation, Committee Results 2018

Live Update: 12/19/2018- 3:38:23 PM MC Winner Runner up Lead Margin Counting Status HISAR GAUTAM SARDANA (68196) REKHA (40105) 28091 WON KARNAL RENU BALA (69960) ASHA WADHWA (60612) 9348 WON PANIPAT Read More…

Ambala is one of the 10 parliamentary constituencies in the Northern Indian state of Haryana. 1,264,907 is the total electorate count in the Ambala Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 1). Out of these 691,750 number of electorates are males and the remaining 573,157 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest.

Quick facts for Ambala

Assembly Constituencies 9
Ruling Party BJP
MPRattan Lal Kataria
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6917505731571264907
Polling stations1415

The Ambala parliamentary constituency has been reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled castes. Covering more than one district, this constituency is a political landmark in the affairs of the country. This constituency covers the whole districts of Ambala and Panchkula and a majority portion of the Yamunanagar district. While two of the assembly segments belong to the Panchkula district, and three segments cover the Yamunanagar district, the remaining four assembly constituencies cover the entire district of Ambala.  

While Ambala city is the administrative headquarters of the Ambala district, Panchkula city is the administrative capital of the Panchkula district. Though the region of this Lok Sabha constituency is primarily a rich agricultural region, the three districts of Ambala, Panchkula and Yamunanagar have some small scale industries, which are the primary strengths of the economy.  

According to the Delimitation Commission of India instituted in 2002 which issued the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Constituencies Order of 2008, the number of assembly constituencies of the Parliamentary constituency has been numbered to nine assembly segments, out of which Mullana(SC) and Sadhaura(SC) segments are reserved for candidates of the scheduled caste categories. The district of Ambala houses a population of 11,28,359 people, as per the 2011 Census.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Ambala Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Ambala parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Ambala constituency is Rattan Lal Kataria of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20141Ambala(SC)Rattan Lal Kataria M BJP 612121 Raj Kumar Balmiki M INC 272047
20091Ambala(SC)Selja Kumari FINC322258Rattan Lal KatariaMBJP307688
20041Ambala(SC)Selja KumariFINC415264Rattan Lal KatariaMBJP180329
19991Ambala(SC)Rattan Lal KatariaMBJP357460Phool Chand MullanaMINC232982
19981Ambala(SC)Aman Kumar NagraMBSP273792Suraj BhanMBJP270928
19961Ambala(SC)Suraj BhanMBJP253555Sher SinghMINC166408
19911Ambala(SC)Ram PrakashMINC196406Suraj BhanMBJP124464
19891Ambala(SC)Ram ParkashMINC264074Suraj BhanMBJP241425
19841Ambala(SC)Ram PrakashMINC283062Suraj BhanMBJP105710
19801Ambala(SC)Suraj BhanMJNP145293Som NathMINC(I)142998
19771Ambala(SC)Suraj BhanMBLD264590Ram PrakashMINC99096
19711Ambala(SC)Ram PrakashMINC196709Suraj Bhan MBJS74433
19671Ambala(SC)Suraj BhanMBJS128003P. WatiMINC119303
19623Ambala(SC)Chuni LalMINC121943Jugal KishoreMJS86109
19572Ambala(SC)Subhdra JoshiMINC317926Tek Chand ChitkaraMBJS190889
19572Ambala(SC)Chuni LalMINC269991Telu RamMBJS141640

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Ambala Constituency

Name of MP Shri Rattan Lal Kataria
Age 67
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.A. (Hons.), M.A. (Political Science), LL.B.
Activities of Shri Rattan Lal Kataria in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 127
Private member bills passed 5
Questions asked 285
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Ambala Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Ambala parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kalka Panchkula Naraingarh
Ambala Cantonment Ambala City Mullana
Sadhaura Jagadhari Yamunanagar

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency