Track your constituency

Live News

Thanjavur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

One of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu, Thanjavur Lok Sabha Constituency was formed prior to the 1952 elections and has six Vidhan Sabha segments. 1,054,118 is the total electorate count in the Thanjavur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 32). Out of these 523,274 number of electorates are males and the remaining 530,844 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. The total number of electors under this constituency is 1,054,118. Thanjavur District lies in the eastern region of the state over area of about 3,400 sq km. It has eight talukas with its headquarters located in the city of Thanjavur. Tamil is the official language of the area.

As per the census of 2011, the district has a population of 2,495,890 with male and female population of 1,182,416 and 1,223,474 respectively. Over the last decade, the district had a population growth rate of about 9% and currently has a population density of 705 inhabitants per sq km. The sex ratio here is 1035 females per 1000 males and about 10% of the population is under the age of six. The average literacy rate is 83% with male and female literacy rates of 90% and 77% respectively. Economically, agriculture is the primary economic activities of the district mostly of paddy crops and the district is the largest producer of coconuts. The National Highways, NH-45C, NH-67 and NH-226 pass through the district connecting it to several nearby cities.

Thanjavur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Palanimanickam,S.S.Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam5836210535758897855.6Winner
Natarajan,N.R .Tamil Maanila Congress (Moopanar)220417043222084920.851st Runner-up
Murugesan, P.Independent10241804531028719.712nd Runner-up
Krishnakumar,N.Naam Tamilar Katchi577400184579245.473rd Runner-up
Selvaraj,R .Independent28234040282742.674th Runner-up
Sampath RamadossMakkal Needhi Maiam233750102234772.225th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above15050055151051.436th Runner-up
Stalin,R.Bahujan Samaj Party584001658560.557th Runner-up
Vijayakumar,T.Independent54490354520.518th Runner-up
Muthuvel,S .Independent45080145090.439th Runner-up
Samantha,K.S.Independent26380526430.2510th Runner-up
Panasaiarangan,K.N.Desiya Makkal Sakthi Katchi20380320410.1911th Runner-up
Abdulbuhari,K .Independent12420212440.1212th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Thanjavur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Thanjavur parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Thanjavur constituency is Shri Parasuraman.K of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
200933ThanjavurGENPalanimanickam,Shri S.S. MDMK408343Durai.BalakrishnanMMDMK306556
200431ThanjavurGENPalanimanickam. S. S.MDMK400986Thangamuthu. KMADMK281838
199831ThanjavurGENPalanimanickam, S.S.MDMK324344Ganesan, L.MMDMK276140
199631ThanjavurGENPalanimanickam S.SMDMK390010Thulasiah Vandayar KMINC189582
199131ThanjavurGENThulasiah Vandayar K.MINC381932Palanimanickam S.MDMK219862
198931ThanjavurGENSingravadivel, SMINC371967Palanimanickam, SMDMK274820
198431ThanjavurGENSingaravadivelMINC306351Palanimanickam S.MDMK217030
198031ThanjavurGENSingaravadivel S.MINC(I)268382Thangamuthu K.MADK223843
1980Bye PolThanjavurGENSingaravadivel.SMINC(I)309868A.Dharmalingam.PMDMK217020
197731ThanjavurGENSomasundaram S.D.MADK289059Ganesan L.MDMK191316
197132ThanjavurGENS. D. SomasundaramMDMK268980R. Krishnasamy GopalarMNCO168972

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Thanjavur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Thanjavur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
MannargudiPattukkottai Peravurani

Last Updated on July 6, 2019