Track your constituency

Live News

Coimbatore Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

One of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu, Coimbatore Lok Sabha Constituency represents the Coimbatore District and has 1,163,781 voters. The Coimbatore Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 20) consists of 1,163,781 number of electorates in totality, of these 591,518 are males and 572,263 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. This constituency came into existence in 1952 and comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments. Coimbatore City is the district headquarters of the Coimbatore District and is the second largest city of the state. It is the sixteenth largest urban agglomeration of the country and is situated in the western region of the state. The district has an average elevation of 400 m and covers an area of 4730 sq km. Tamil and English are the official languages here.

As per 2011 India census, Coimbatore District has a population of over 3,458,000 people of which 319,332 are under the age of six. About 51% of the population is male and 49% of the population is female. The sex ratio is 1000 females for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate here is 84% with male literacy rate at 90% and female literacy rate at 89%. About 91% of the population is Hindu. The textile industry as well as poultry farming is very vital to the economy of the area. Three National Highways, NH-47, NH-67 and NH-209 are connected to the district.

Coimbatore Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Natarajan. P.RCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)5677410340957115045.66Winner
Radhakrishnan. C.PBharatiya Janata Party3908230118439200731.341st Runner-up
Mahendran. RMakkal Needhi Maiam144808029614510411.62nd Runner-up
Kalyana Sundaram. SNaam Tamilar Katchi603910128605194.843rd Runner-up
Appathurai. N.R.Independent37989072380613.044th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above230810109231901.855th Runner-up
Govindan. PBahujan Samaj Party429601843140.346th Runner-up
Krishnan. VIndependent29150129160.237th Runner-up
Kanagasabapathy. GIndependent27260127270.228th Runner-up
Radhakrishnan. UIndependent26300326330.219th Runner-up
Manikandan. PTamil Nadu Ilangyar Katchi23020523070.1810th Runner-up
Radhakrishnan. PIndependent16240316270.1311th Runner-up
Dhanapal. MIndependent15330515380.1212th Runner-up
Pushpanantham. VIndependent14210114220.1113th Runner-up
Natarajan. AIndependent13640613700.1114th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Coimbatore Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Coimbatore parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Coimbatore constituency is Shri Nagarajan, P. of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201420CoimbatoreGENNagarajan, P.MAIADMK431717Radhakrishnan, C.P.MBJP389701
200920CoimbatoreGENNatarajan,Shri P.R. MCPM293165Prabhu.RMINC254501
200420CoimbatoreGENSubbarayan, K.MCPI504981Radhakishnan. C. PMBJP340476
199920CoimbatoreGENRadhakrishnan, C.P.MBJP430068Nallakannu, R.MCPI375991
199820CoimbatoreGENRadhakrishnan C.P.MBJP449269Subbian K.R.MDMK304593
199620CoimbatoreGENRamanathan M.MDMK463807Kuppuswamy C.K.MINC201020
199120CoimbatoreGENKuppuswamy C.K.MINC408891Ramani K.MCPM222827
198920CoimbatoreGENKuppusamy, C.K.MINC426721Umanath, R.MCPM286653
198420CoimbatoreGENKuppuswamy C. K.MINC355525Umanath R.MCPM253006
198020CoimbatoreGENRam Mohan Alias Era Mohan R.MDMK276975Parvathi KrishnanMCPI220866
197720CoimbatoreGENParvathi KrishnanMCPI267424Lakshmanan S.V.MNCO246246
197118CoimbatoreGENK. BalathandayuthamMCPI214824RamaswamyMNCO137771

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Coimbatore Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Coimbatore parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Palladam Sulur Kavundampalayam
Coimbatore North Coimbatore South Singanallur

Last Updated on July 5, 2019