Track your constituency

Live News

Chidambaram Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

Paswan NDA Alliance Bihar Paswan Causing Trouble to Bihar NDA Alliance

Bihar Election 2020 is expected to take place around October-November this year. Before that, many political activities are taking place in Bihar. The recent one is the tussle between the Read More…

Most Powerful BJP CM Yogi Adityanath Yogi Is the Only Powerful BJP Chief Minister

Coronavirus pandemic is spreading in India at a faster pace. Initially, the center had taken things into hands. The Modi Government was at the forefront of the fight against the Read More…

Sonia Priyanka Rahul Gandhi Analysis: Congress Repeating BJP’s Mistake of 2008

Every newspaper and news website of India is now having a headline concerning India China border clash. The government is trying its level best to resolve the crisis as soon Read More…

Yashwant Sinha Bihar Elections 2020 Yashwant Sinha Jumps in the Bihar Election With a New ‘Front’

Former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha has decided to try his luck in the upcoming Bihar Election 2020. He had handled finance and external affairs portfolios in the Bajpayee government. To Read More…

Madhya Pradesh Cabinet 2020 Madhya Pradesh Cabinet Expansion, 28 New Ministers took Oath

After long consultations with the senior leadership, Shivraj Singh Chouhan has finally expanded his cabinet. 28 new ministers took oath today and it was administered by Anandiben Patel. She had Read More…

Cast Politics in Bihar Analysis: How Caste Plays A Significant Role For Bihar Election

India is going to witness a heightened political activity since the end of 2020. Mainly because the term of many state assemblies is going to expire. There will be Bihar Read More…

Reserved for the SC category, the Lok Sabha constituency of Chidambaram is one of Tamil Nadu’s 39 parliamentary constituencies. 1,126,828 is the total electorate count in the Chidambaram Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 27). Out of these 566,700 number of electorates are males and the remaining 560,128 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It came into existence in 1957, comprises of six segments and has 1,126,828 voters. Chidambaram is a town of the Cuddalore District, under the Chidambaram Taluk. Covering a total area of 5 sq km, it has an altitude of 3 m. It is 150 km away from Chennai and lies close to Bay of Bengal.

According to census data of 2011, the town has a population of about 58,000 with 51% female majority and 49% males. Over 6,100 are under the age of six and the sex ratio is 1,030 females for every 1000 males. SCs and STs comprise of 8% and 0.83% of the population respectively. Almost 10% of the population is below the national poverty line. The average literacy rate is 89% and almost 30% of the population resides in slums. Tourism is an important industry here and the city has several prominent temples. Cottage industries, agriculture, small scale industries and retail are the economic activities associated with the people here. The infamous Annamalai University is also located here. The city has a large road network connected to the National Highway NH-45A.

Chidambaram Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election, armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo — has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Thirumaavalavan TholViduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi4984010182850022943.38Winner
Chandrasekar PAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam4954320157849701043.11st Runner-up
Elavarasan AIndependent62219089623085.42nd Runner-up
Sivajothi MNaam Tamilar Katchi373290142374713.253rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above15479056155351.354th Runner-up
Ravi TMakkal Needhi Maiam15260074153341.335th Runner-up
Gurusamy PIndependent70100270120.616th Runner-up
Krishnaraj MAnaithu Makkal Puratchi Katchi466501046750.417th Runner-up
Parvathi SDesiya Makkal Sakthi Katchi40930741000.368th Runner-up
Jagatheesan MIndependent29920129930.269th Runner-up
Kalaiyarasan RIndependent214001521550.1910th Runner-up
Krishnakumari AIndependent17040217060.1511th Runner-up
Periyasamy TIndependent14640014640.1312th Runner-up
Kittu TIndependent11970312000.113th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Chidambaram Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Chidambaram parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Chidambaram constituency is Chandrakasi, M of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201427Chidambaram(SC)Chandrakasi, MMAIADMK429536Thirumaavalavan, TholMVCK301041
200927Chidambaram(SC)Thol,Shri Thirumaa Valavan MVCK428804Ponnuswamy,EMPMK329721
200412Chidambaram(SC)Ponnuswamy, E.MPMK343424Thirumaavalavan TholMJD(U)255773
199912Chidambaram(SC)Ponnuswamy, E.MPMK345331Thirumavalavan, R.MTMC(M)225768
199812Chidambaram(SC)Elumalai Alias Ezhilmalai R.MPMK305372Ganesan V.MDMK297417
199612Chidambaram(SC)Ganesan VMDMK336164Elumalai.RMPMK159898
199112Chidambaram(SC)Vallalperuman P.MINC306121Sulochana Ayyasamy (W)FDMK169231
198912Chidambaram(SC)Vallalperuman, P.MINC205229Ayyasamy, A.MDMK176946
198412Chidambaram(SC)Vallalperuman P.MINC329892Kannapiran S.MDMK209001
198012Chidambaram(SC)Kulandaivelu V.MDMK302523Mahalingam S.MCPM163798
197712Chidambaram(SC)Murugesan A.MADK278406Rajangam N.MDMK169172
197111Chidambaram(SC)V. MayavanMDMK203059L. Elayaperumal MNCO180661

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Chidambaram Constituency

Name of MP Shri M. Chandrakasi
Age 49
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Sc., M.A., B.Lib.Sc
Activities of Shri M. Chandrakasi in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 16
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 230
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Chidambaram Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Chidambaram parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kunnam Ariyalur Jayankondam
Bhuvanagiri Chidambaram Kattumannarkoil (SC)

Last Updated on July 5, 2019