Track your constituency

Live News

Betul Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Betul Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Durga Das (D.D.) UikeyBharatiya Janata Party8102370101181124859.74Winner
Ramu Tekam (Advocate)Indian National Congress450802020545100733.211st Runner-up
Ashok BhalaviBahujan Samaj Party23545028235731.742nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above2278106227871.683rd Runner-up
Sunil KawdeIndependent1093703109400.814th Runner-up
Pushpa MarskoleBahujan Mukti Party1033705103420.765th Runner-up
Nimish SariyamIndependent98030198040.726th Runner-up
Bhagcharan WarkadeIndependent94280394310.697th Runner-up
Bisram UikeyGondvana Gantantra Party49490849570.378th Runner-up
Pushpa Dr. Shailendra PendamAkhil Bhartiya Gondwana Party37610737680.289th Runner-up

The seat of Betul is one of the parliamentary constituencies in the state of Madhya Pradesh. This Lok Sabha seat is reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Betul Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 29) were 1,286,761 of which 606,805 are females and 679,956 are males. This seat witnessed its first Lok Sabha elections in the independent state of Madhya Pradesh in the year 1951, which was won by the Indian National Congress. The Betul district has a population of 15,75,362, according to the 2011 Census of India.  

Covering whole districts of Betul and Harda as well as a portion of the Khandwa district, this Lok Sabha constituency has a total number of 12,85,623 voters, as recorded in the 2009 parliamentary elections.  With the city of Betul being the administrative headquarters of the Betul district, this region has witnessed very less development, so far as economic spontaneity is concerned. Hence, this parliamentary constituency has been named as one of the country’s backward districts. Along with the district of Harda which is historically relevant for having given birth to Indian freedom fighter Guru Radha Krishnan, Betul is a region of considerable political importance in the state.  

While the Harsud assembly constituency belongs to the Khandwa district, and the segments of Timarni and Harda belong to the Harda constituency, the rest of the five assembly segments which together make up this Lok Sabha seat, cover the entire district of Betul. From the Lok Sabha elections of 1996 up to the present, the Betul constituency has remained in the hands of the BJP, although the Congress party remained prominent in this seat in the early years.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Betul Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Betul parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Betul constituency is Smt. Jyoti Dhurve of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201429Betul(ST)Jyoti DhurveFBJP643651Ajay Shah (Makrai)MINC315037
200929Betul(ST)Dhurve,Smt. Jyoti FBJP334939Ojharam EvaneMINC237622
2008Bye PolBetulGENKhandelwal Hemant Vijay Kumar MBJP300676Sukhdeo Panse MINC265234
200417BetulGENKhandelwal Vijay Kumar (Munni Bhaia)MBJP288007Rajendra JaiswalMINC130467
199928BetulGENVijay Kumar Khandelwal " Munni Bhaiya"MBJP272512Gufran BhaiMINC208040
199828BetulGENVijay Kumar Khandelwal (Munni Bhaiya)MBJP284091Dr. Ashok SableMINC244425
199628BetulGENVijay Kumar KhandelwalMBJP260259Aslam SherkhanMINC148183
199128BetulGENAslam-Sher-KhanMINC153756Arif BaigMBJP131023
198928BetulGENArif BegMBJP194266Aslam SherkhanMINC153494
198428BetulGENAslam SherkhanMINC147190M. N. BuchMIND109240
198028BetulGENGufran AzamMINC(I)104816Subhashchandra AhujaMJNP75494
197728BetulGENSubhash Chandra AhujaMBLD108660Narendra Kumar SalveMINC81737
197126BetulGENNarendra Kuma SalveMINC143918Vasant Kumar Pandit MBJS75827
196726BetulGENS.N. KumarMINC102661R.S.D. Prasad MBJS88762
195115BetulGENBhikulal Lakhmichand ChandakMINC129277Gopal Namuji DeshmukhMIND35195

Facts about current sitting MP of Betul Constituency

Name of MP Smt. Jyoti Dhurve
Age 52
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Female
Educational Qualification M.A. (Political Science)
Activities of Smt. Jyoti Dhurve in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated NA
Private member bills passed NA
Questions asked NA
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Betul Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Betul parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Multai Amla (SC) Betul
Ghoradongri (ST) Bhainsdehi (ST) Timarni (ST)
Harda Harsud (ST)

Last Updated on July 2, 2019