Track your constituency
Live News

Kanker Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

The Kanker parliamentary constituency, spread across more than one district in the maoist- infected state of Chhattisgarh, has been a BJP stronghold from as early as 1998. The Kanker Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 11)consists of 1,296,734 number of electorates in totality, of these 646,647 are males and 650,087 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. Being one of the 11 Lok Sabha seats allotted to this state, Kanker is reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes. Eight Vidhan Sabha segments make up this parliamentary constituency, out of which Sanjari Balod, Dondi Lohara and Gunderdehi are in Durg district and the assembly constituency of Sihawa is in Dhamtari district. Antagarh, Bhanupratappur and Kanker cover the Kanker district, while Keshkal constituency is part of the Bastar district. All assembly segments except Gunderdehi and Sanjari Balod, are reserved for scheduled tribe members. The Kanker parliamentary constituency is one of the most politically sensitive constituencies in the state, as it falls in and around the Bastar district which is frequently victimized by the Red Labels. Agriculture provides the economic backbone to this region, which lies between the two developed urban centres of Raipur and Jagdalpur in the state. The total number of voters in the constituency, according to the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, is reported to be 7,41,792 people.

Kanker Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Kanker Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Mohan MandaviBharatiya Janata Party5433760285754623347.12Winner
Biresh ThakurIndian National Congress5379990132053931946.531st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above26692021267132.32nd Runner-up
Harisingh SidarIndependent1144702114490.993rd Runner-up
Sube Singh DhurvaBahujan Samaj Party10088036101240.874th Runner-up
Durgaprasad ThakurAmbedkarite Party Of India60950861030.535th Runner-up
Narend NagIndependent57500857580.56th Runner-up
Mathan Singh MarkamBhartiya Shakti Chetna Party557401255860.487th Runner-up
Ghanshyam JurriGondvana Gantantra Party439108044710.398th Runner-up
Umashankar BhandariShivsena341702034370.39th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Kanker Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Kanker parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Kanker constituency is Shri Vikram Dev Usendi of BJP.
Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201411Kanker(ST)Vikram Dev Usendi M BJP 465215 Foolodevi Netam F INC 430057
200911Kanker(ST)Potai,Shri Sohan MBJP341131Smt. Phoolo Devi NetamFINC318647
20048Kanker(ST)Sohan PotaiMBJP274294Mrs. Ganga Potai ThakurMINC200668
199919Kanker(ST)Sohan PotaiMBJP318040Chhabila Arvind NetamMINC229849
199819Kanker(ST)Sohan PotaiMBJP270121Mahendra KarmaMINC215751
199619Kanker(ST)Chhabila Arvind NetamMINC219191Sohan PotaiMBJP194771
199119Kanker(ST)Arwind NetamMINC154567Deolall DuggaMBJP135206
198919Kanker(ST)Arvind NetamMINC189631Lambodar BaliyarMJD143815
198419Kanker(ST)Arvind Netam MINC225545Aghan Singh ThakurMBJP89358
198019Kanker(ST)Arvind NetamMINC(I)154949Aghansingh BhaosinghMJNP67448
197719Kanker(ST)AghansinghMBLD151392Arvind BishramMINC97615
197116Kanker(ST)Arvind VishramsinghMINC99494Brijlalsingh Barsai MBJS92051
196716Kanker(ST)T.L.P. ShahMBJS90460S. Devi FINC86937

List of Assembly Constituencies in Kanker Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kanker parliamentary constituency.

Last Updated on June 25, 2020