Live News

Track your constituency
Live News

Visakhapatnam Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
M V V SatyanarayanaYuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party4339680293843690635.24Winner
Bharat MathukumilliTelugu Desam4310930139943249234.891st Runner-up
V.V. Lakshmi NarayanaJanasena Party2870720180228887423.32nd Runner-up
Daggubati PurandeswariBharatiya Janata Party334300462338922.733rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above16626020166461.344th Runner-up
Pedada. RamanikumariIndian National Congress14550083146331.185th Runner-up
George BangariViduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi30270130280.246th Runner-up
Durgaprasad. GuntuIndependent24630124640.27th Runner-up
Pulapaka Raja SekharIndependent22940022940.198th Runner-up
Anmish VarmaIndependent190401119150.159th Runner-up
B. Jaya Venu GopalPyramid Party Of India16220516270.1310th Runner-up
R. Udaya GowriIndependent13840013840.1111th Runner-up
Gannu MallayyaIndependent13110213130.1112th Runner-up
Kothapalli GeethaIndependent11550311580.0913th Runner-up
Gampala SomasundaramIndependent11270111280.0914th Runner-up

Situated in the Visakhapatnam district in Andhra Pradesh is the Lok Sabha constituency of Visakhapatnam. It is one of the 42 Lok Sabha seats which belong to this southern Indian state. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Visakhapatnam Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 21) were 1,387,482 of which 693,177 are females and 694,305 are males. It is also the administrative headquarters of the Visakhapatnam district.

This district was split from the Vizianagaram district in the year 1979, and is currently part of the Red Corridor, being victimised by Maoist insurgency. This district has a population of 4,288,113, as per the 2011 Census of India records. Economically reliant on the industrial sector, Visakhapatnam is home to the Vizag Steel Plant. This eponymous district of Visakhapatnam is also a renowned educational hub, housing some of the top-class institutes in this region. This constituency is primarily a Congress vote-bank, although the Telugu Desam Party has won the general elections in this constituency a couple of times. Seven Vidhan Sabha segments make up this Lok Sabha constituency of Visakhapatnam.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Visakhapatnam Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Visakhapatnam parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Visakhapatnam constituency is Smt. Daggubati Purandeswari of INC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201421VisakhapatnamGENKambhampati Hari Babu M BJP 566832 Y.S Vijayamma F YSRC 476344
200921VisakhapatnamGENPurandeswari,Smt. Daggubati FINC368812Palla Srinivasa RaoMPRAP302126
20044VisakhapatnamGENJanardhana Reddy NedurumalliMINC524122Dr.M.V.V.S.MurthyMTDP393551
19994VisakhapatnamGENM.V.V.S.MurthyMTDP442036T.Subbarami ReddyMINC403117
19984VisakhapatnamGENSubbarami Reddy.TMINC375782Ananda Gajapathi Raju PusapatiMTDP314265
19964VisakhapatnamGENT. Subbarami ReddiMINC365700Ananda Gajapathi Raju PoosapatiMTDP358241
19914VisakhapatnamGENM.V.V.S. MurthiMTDP289793Uma Gajapathiraju (W)FINC284655
19894VisakhapatnamGENUma Gajapathi Raju PoosapatiFINC352326M.V.V.S. MurthyMTDP326593
19844VisakhapatnamGENBhattam Sreerama MurthyMTDP334399Narayana Murthy Patrudu SukhavasiMINC193968
19804VisakhapatnamGENAppalaswamy KommuruMINC(I)206581Bhattam Srirama MurthyMINC(U)171946
19774VisakhapatnamGENDronamraju SatyanarayanaMINC171657Tenneti ViswanathanMBLD128828
19714VisakhapatnamGENP. V. G. RajuMIND184464Tenneti Viswanatham MIND117276
19674VisakhapatnamGENT. ViswanathamMIND136766P. Venkatrao MINC102693
19624VisakhapatnamGENVijaya AnanadaMINC159423Maddi Pattabhirama Reddy MSWA68281
1960By PollsVisakhapatnamGENM.K.V. AnandMINC Uncontested   
19573VisakhapatnamGENPusapati Vijayarama Gajapathi RajuMIND88563Mallavarapu Venkata Krishna RaoMINC27449

List of Assembly Constituencies in Visakhapatnam Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Visakhapatnam parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SrungavarapukotaBhimliVisakhapatnam East
Visakhapatnam SouthVisakhapatnam NorthVisakhapatnam West

Last Updated on June 25, 2020
Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit