Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Darjeeling Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

One of the 42 constituencies of the state of West Bengal, Darjeeling Lok Sabha Constituency was formed prior to the 1957 elections and has 1,215,000 electors. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Darjeeling Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 4) were 1,215,464 of which 587,824 are females and 627,640 are males. It comprises of seven assembly segments, two of which are reserved for the SC category and one is reserved for the ST category. It is the district headquarters of the Darjeeling district and is located in the Lesser Himalayas. The city stands at an average elevation of 2045 m and covers an area of 10.5 sq km.

The city has a population of over 132,000 with a child population is 7,382. About 50% of the population is male and the sex ratio is 1005 females for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Darjeeling is around 93%. Bengali, Nepali, Hindi and English are widely spoken. The city of Darjeeling is famous for its Darjeeling Tea and it is an important tourist destination. The city is the home of the famous Lloyd's Botanical Garden and Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park. The famous Darjeeling Himalayan Railway often called 'Toy train' that connects this city to the neighboring cities has been declared a World Heritage site by UNESCO. The city has road connections to Gangtok and Kathmandu and is connected to the National Highway NH-55.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Darjeeling Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Darjeeling parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Darjeeling constituency is Shri S.S.Ahluwalia of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20144DarjeelingGENS.S.AhluwaliaMBJP488257Bhai Chung BhutiaMAITC291018
20094DarjeelingGENSingh,Shri Jaswant MBJP497649Jibesh SarkarMCPM244360
20044DarjeelingGENDawa NarbulaMINC396973Moni ThapaMCPM295557
19994DarjeelingGENS.P. LepchaMCPM256826Nar Bahadur KhatiwaraMINC144857
19984DarjeelingGENAnanda PathakMCPM280589Prasanta NandyMINC158033
19964DarjeelingGENR B RaiMCPM357291K B ChettriMINC280167
19914DarjeelingGENInder JeetMINC354645Ananda PathakMCPM302748
19894DarjeelingGENInderjeetMGNLF435070Ananda PathakMCPM289965
19844DarjeelingGENAnanda Prasad PathakMCPM228679Dawa NarbulaMINC227290
19804DarjeelingGENAnanda PathakMCPM185612K.B. ChettriMINC(I)167451
19774DarjeelingGENKrishna Bahadur ChettriMINC109520Ratanlal BrahmanMCPM91040
19713DarjeelingGENRatanlall BrahmanMCPM84408Gurung G. S.MIGL72131
19673DarjeelingGENM. BasuMIND97476T. ManaenMINC95645
19623DarjeelingGENT. ManaenMINC66129Ratan Lal BrahmanMCPI57702
19572DarjeelingGENT. Manaen MINC60460Ratanlall BrahminMCPI49785

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Darjeeling Constituency

Name of MP Shri S.S.Ahluwalia
Age 67
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Sc., LL.B.
Activities of Shri S.S.Ahluwalia in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 124
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Darjeeling Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Darjeeling parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Matigara-Naxalbari (SC)SiliguriPhansidewa (ST)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency