Kurseong (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections

About Kurseong Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Kurseong is a legislative assembly constituency in the Darjeeling district of West Bengal. It belongs to the Darjeeling Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency of the state. The Kurseong seat of the West Bengal state legislative assembly is currently represented by Rohit Sharma of GOJAM. Sharma accounted for a whopping 1,14,297 votes in the 2011 assembly elections and defeated Pemu Chhetri of GNLF by a huge margin of 93,096 votes. The Election Commission of India, in 2014, identified a total of 2,09,081 people of the Kurseong assembly constituency as eligible voters; 1,03,535 men and 1,05,546 women of the constituency hold the right to vote. In 2008, the Delimitation Commission of India recommended that the Kurseong legislative assembly segment of West Bengal would comprise Upper Sonada, Lower Sonada-I, Lower Sonada-II, Gorabari Margaret’s Hope and Munda Kothi gram panchayats of Jorebunglow Sukiapokhri community development block; Mirik Notified Area; Mirik community development block; Kurseong community development block; Kurseong Municipal Corporation; Rangli Rangliot community development block; and Sivok Hill Forest (Village), Sitong Forest (Village) and Sivok Forest (Village) under the Champasari gram panchayat of Matigara community development block.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kurseong Assembly Constituency

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Gender Party Vote Runner Up Gender Party Vote
2011 24 Kurseong GEN Rohit Sharma M GOJAM 114297 Pemu Chhetri F GNLF 21201
2006 24 Kurseong GEN Shanta Chhetri F GNLF 63295 Buddhiman Rai M IND 30237
2001 24 Kurseong GEN Shanta Chettri F GNLF 55630 Tulsi Bhattrai M CPM 24729
1996 24 Kurseong GEN Shanta Chhetri F GNLF 59635 Tulsi Bhattarai M CPM 40674
1991 24 Kurseong GEN Nar Bahadur Chettri M IND 50487 Dawa Lama M CPM 36705
1987 24 Kurseong GEN Harka Bahadur Rai M CPM 5607 A. N. Pradhan M INC 1538
1982 24 Kurseong GEN H. B. Rai M CPM 28170 Dawa Norbula M INC 27889
1977 24 Kurseong GEN Dawa Norbula M INC 11941 Anand Pathak M CPM 10390

Last Updated on: June 08, 2020
Latest News Updates

West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Assam Election Dates