Track your constituency

Bardhaman Purba Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

Congress By-Poll Reasons for Congress Drubbing in Karnataka By-Polls 2019

As many as 165 candidates, including 126 Independents and 9 women were in the fray for the 15 assembly seats. The BJP and the opposition Congress had contesting in all the Read More…

BJP Karnataka By-Poll Win BJP’s clean sweep in Karnataka By-Polls

It was a victorious Monday for BJP when it won 12 out of 15 seats in Karnataka by-elections on 9th December 2019. Now, the Yediyurappa government stands stronger than before Read More…

Karnataka By-Elections Live Results Karnataka By-Election Results Live Updates

KARNATAKA BY-ELECTIONS RESULTS SUMMARY Karnataka By-Polls Results: BJP:12, INC:2, JD(S):0, INDEPENDENT:1 With BJP en-route a mammoth victory in the Karntaka bypolls, chief minister B.S. Yediyurappa is set to retain his Read More…

Uddhav Thackeray The Political Expedition of Uddhav Thackeray

Uddhav Thackeray – The current chief minister of the state of Maharashtra took the first step in politics with the help of his powerful father Blasaheb Thackeray. How unbelievable it Read More…

ByElection Opinion Poll 2019 The Exit Polls seem to secure the Yedurappa Government.

On 5th December 2019, By-polls were held for 15 seats of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. While the results will be declared on 9th December, Karnataka Exit Polls have suggested a Read More…

Karnataka ByPoll Uncertain Times Mire Karnataka Polity

The Supreme Court with its decision that upheld former Karnataka assembly speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar to disqualify 17 rebel Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) legislators for defection but defected MLA’s can contest elections, Supreme Court by this Read More…

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Bardhaman Purba Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Sunil Kumar MondalAll India Trinamool Congress640490034464083444.52Winner
Paresh Chandra DasBharatiya Janata Party550671085255152338.321st Runner-up
Iswar Chandra DasCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)175768015217592012.222nd Runner-up
Siddhartha MajumdarIndian National Congress38426046384722.673rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above10747013107600.754th Runner-up
Mukul BiswasBahujan Samaj Party885201088620.625th Runner-up
Biplab MistriBharatiya Nyay-Adhikar Raksha Party64940264960.456th Runner-up
Nirmal MajhiSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)64160364190.457th Runner-up

One of the 42 parliamentary constituencies of West Bengal, Bardhaman Purba came into existence in the year 1951. 1,289,311 is the total electorate count in the Bardhaman Purba Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 38). Out of these 674,311 number of electorates are males and the remaining 615,000 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It is reserved for the SC category and comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments. The constituency represents the Burdwan District which is at a height of 30 m over an area of 56 sq km and its headquarters are situated in the city of Burdwan. It is about 100 km away from the city of Kolkata. It has cultural importance and has been home to several prominent artists.

The 2011 Indian Census states that the total population of the Bardhaman Urban Agglomeration is over 347,000 with a 53% male majority and 47% of females. Over 25,000 are under the age of six and the average literacy rate is 89%. There is over an 84% Hindu majority and the city is famous for being home to Kankeleswari Kali, a Hindu Goddess. There are several schools and colleges here including a branch of the prestigious St. Xaviers School. The economy is mostly agrarian and various small scale industries are also located here. It is nicknamed to be the "Rice Bowl" of the state. The National Highway NH-2 is connected to the district.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Bardhaman Purba Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Bardhaman Purba parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Bardhaman Purba constituency is Sunil Kumar Mondal of AITC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Currentr MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201438Bardhaman Purba(SC)Sunil Kumar MondalMAITC574660Iswar Chandra DasMCPM460181
200938Bardhaman Purba(SC)Saha,Dr. Anup Kumar MCPM531987Ashoke BiswasMAITC472568

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Bardhaman Purba Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Bardhaman Purba parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Raina (SC)Jamalpur (SC)Kalna (SC)
MemariPurbasthali DakshinPurbasthali Uttar

Last Updated on June 26, 2019