Track your constituency

Sultanpur Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Top VIP Contests in Second Phase Top VIP Contests in Second Phase

A former Prime Minister, four Union Ministers, and several high-profile first-timers are among more than 1,629 candidates setting the stage for a number of riveting encounters in the second round Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Phase 2 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Second Phase Live Updates

Live Updates – Lok Sabha Elections Phase 2 7:59:13 PM Final Update for the Day – Final Voter Turnout State – Wise State Voter Turnout (%) Assam 73.32 Bihar 58.14 Read More…

Parliamentary Seats in Phase 2 of Lok Sabha Elections Parliamentary Seats in Phase 2 – Lok Sabha Elections 2019

The largest festival of the democracy is underway since last Thursday. The second phase of polling for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 began today morning. A total of 95 constituencies across Read More…

Assembly Bypolls Elections Live Updates- 2019 Assembly Elections and Assembly By-Polls in Odisha

Live Udates: 5:05:35 PM 53 per cent voter turnout recorded till 3 PM in the second phase polls in Odisha, as per the office of the Chief Electoral Officer.  4:21:43 Read More…

Assembly Bypolls Elections Live Updates- 2019 Assembly By-polls in Tamil Nadu

Live Updates: 5:11:41 PM Voter turnout for bypolls in Tamil Nadu till 3 pm 4:29:31 PM A little over a lakh swing votes could decide this rare BJP vs Congress Read More…

Why Uttar Pradesh will decide the road to Lok Sabha for BJP in 2019 Elections BJP Might Lose 50-60 Seats in Uttar Pradesh – A Mathematical Perspective?

Lok Sabha 2019 Elections – the battle has already begun and parties are pushing hard to convert the rally crowd into votes. One common theme of these elections is Modi Read More…

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

Party Wise Candidate List for Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2019

Party NameLS ConstituencyCandidate Name
INCSultanpurDr. Sanjay Singh
BSPSultanpurShri Chandrabhadra Singh
BJPSultanpurSmt Maneka Gandhi, MP

Sultanpur Lok Sabha Election Summary

Sultanpur is essentially an agricultural district located on the banks of river Gomti in Uttar Pradesh. This year in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections Sultanpur witnessed a competition among SP's Shakeel Ahmad, BJP's Varun Gandhi, BSP's Pawan Pandey, AAP's Shailendra Pratap Singh and Congress' Amita Sanjay Singh.

Varun Gandhi of BJP was declared as the winner of the polls.

BJP's candidate Varun Gandhi, won the election by a resounding 410348 votes, defeating Pawan Pandey by a margin of 178902 votes. In third place, SP's Shakeel Ahmad won a total of 228144 votes.

The sitting MP, Sanjay Singh from the Indian National Congress had won the 2009 elections with 300,411 votes (total votes being 7,07,855) thereby grabbing a vote share of 42.44%.

BSP's Mohd. Tahir who was the winner in the 2004 elections came a close second in the 2009 elections with 201,632 votes comprising 28.48% of the total votes and Ashok Pandey of the Samajwadi party came in a close third by securing a total of 1,07,895 votes followed by the BJP's candidate Surya Bhan Singh.

In the district of Sultanpur, civic woes top the list of issues along with the challenge of the low child sex ratio of 886 girls to 1000 boys. This predominantly agrarian economy is in need of a complete up-liftment, be it the transport facilities, the roads, the education or other sectors.

An overall lack of growth and development in the vicinity are the main issues being surfaced by the residents of Sultanpur.

The Parliamentary Constituency of Sultanpur is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies of the state of Uttar Pradesh formed prior to the 1951 elections. The Sultanpur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 38) consists of 1,430,955 number of electorates in totality, of these 764,314 are males and 666,641 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It presently comprises of five Vidhan Sabha segments of which one was reserved for the SC category. The administrative headquarters of Sultanpur district is situated in the city of Sultanpur. It is located on the right banks of the river Gomti at an average elevation of 95 meters. This district is part of the Faizabad Division. Hindi is the official language of Sultanpur with Awadhi being widely spoken by the locals.

According to the census data of 2011, Sultanpur has a total population of 116,211 of which 52.54% are males and 47.46% are females. It has a sex ratio of 886 females per 1000 males and 10.44% of the population is below the age of six. The city of Sultanpur has an average literacy of 87.61 % with male literacy at 91.45% and female literacy at 83.37%. Hinduism is the predominant religion here with 82% of the total population being Hindus. The economy of this city is primarily dependent on agriculture and small scale industries. Sultanpur has a promising number of notable schools and colleges, both government and private. The National Highway NH-56, NH-96 and NH-232 pass through the area.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Sultanpur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Sultanpur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Sultanpur constituency is Feroze Varun Gandhi of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201438SultanpurGENFeroze Varun GandhiMBJP410348Pawan PandeyMBSP231446
200938SultanpurGENSinh,Dr. Sanjay MINC300411Mohd.TahirMBSP201632
200422SultanpurGENMohd. TahirMBSP261564Shailendra Pratap SinghMSP159754
199926SultanpurGENJai Bhadra SinghMBSP173558Ram Lakhan VermaMSP158959
199826SultanpurGENDebendra Bahadur RaiMBJP269951Dr. Rita BahugunaMSP205503
199626SultanpurGENDevendra Bahadur RaiMBJP238843Kamruzama FaugiMSP120559
199126SultanpurGENVishwanath Dass ShastriMBJP137485Ram SinghMJD60529
198926SultanpurGENRam SinghMJD177714Raj Karan SinghMINC139118
198426SultanpurGENRaj Karan SinghMINC219682MustakeemMIND59625
198026SultanpurGENGiriraj IsnghMINC(I)107241Trubhuwan Nath SandaMJNP(S)81160
197726SultanpurGENZulfikar UllahMBLD232330Kedar Nath SinghMINC66796
197125SultanpurGENKedar Nath SinghMINC93946Ram Piarey Shukla MBJS31131
1970Bye PolSultanpurGENK.N.SinghMNCJ47854Z.UllahMMUM30602
1969Bye PolSultanpurGENS. MisraMBKD48041K.N.SinghMIND47792
196725SultanpurGENG. SahaiMINC125453J. K. AgarwalMBJS79443
196226SultanpurGENKunwar KrishnaMINC87918Bechu Singh MJS55367
1961Bye PolSultanpurGENG.SahaiMIND37785K.C.PantMINC36656
195760SultanpurGENGovind MalviyaMINC72227Bhaskar Pratap Sahi MBJS49344

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Sultanpur Constituency

Name of MP Shri Feroze Varun Gandhi
Age 38
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Sc. (Hons) Economics
Activities of Shri Feroze Varun Gandhi in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 24
Private member bills passed 9
Questions asked 377
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Sultanpur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Sultanpur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
LambhuaKadipur (SC)

Last Updated on March 13, 2019