Kandhamal Lok Sabha (General) Elections Result

The Parliamentary Constituency of Kandhamal is one of the 21 Lok Sabha constituencies of the state of Odisha and was formed after the 2008 Presidential notification of delimitation of constituencies. The total number of electorates in the Kandhamal Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 13) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,065,279 of which 539,127 are males and 526,152 are females. It has seven segments of which one is reserved for the SC category and three are reserved for the ST category. With its headquarters located in Phulbani, the district of Kandhamal was formed in 1994. The district covers an area of 8,021 sq km with an average elevation of 700 m. It is 211 km from Bhubaneshwar. The prevalent languages here are Oriya, English and Hindi.

List of candidates of Kandhamal constituency for 2014

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from the Kandhamal Constituency in the Orissa General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014.

Kandhamal, Constituency No -(13)
Election Date10/04/2014 
Result Date16/05/2014 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
AAPNarendra Mohanty
BJDHemendra Chandra Singh
BJPSukanta Kumar Panigrahi
INCHarihar Karan

AOPBilasini Nayak

INDBasanta Kumar Pradhan

INDLambodar Kanhar

With a population density of 91 inhabitants per sq km, it has a total population of 731,952 and a sex ratio of 1037 females for every 1000 males. It is the 497th most populous district of India and had a population growth rate of 12.92% over the decade 2001-2011. 52% of the population comprises of the ST category. It has an average literacy rate of 65.12% and has several schools and colleges. Agriculture and handloom are the primary economic activities here. Horticulture is also prevalent here. NH-217 passes through the district placing it on a large network of roads.

Kandhamal General Elections 2014 Important Dates

The table below represents the important dates associated with the Kandhamal General Elections 2014 and when are elections going to be held in Kandhamal - the date of issue of notification, nominations and much, more.

Phase of General ElectionPhase-3
Issue of Notification15/03/2014
Last Date for filing Nominations22/03/2014
Scrutiny of Nominations24/03/2014
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature26/03/2014
Date of Poll10/04/2014
Counting of Votes16/05/2014
Date before which the election shall be completed28/05/2014

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Kandhamal Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Kandhamal parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Kandhamal constituency is Shri Rudra Madhab Ray of BJD.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinnerSexPartyVoteRunner UpSexPartyVote
200913KandhamalGENRay,Shri Rudra Madhab MBJD315314Suzit Kumar PadhiMINC164307

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about sitting MP of Kandhamal Constituency

Name of MP Rudramadhab Ray
Age 76
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-09 to In office
Political Party Biju Janata Dal
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Graduate
Activities of Rudramadhab Ray in 15th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 44
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 804
Attendance 75%
Elections.in Verdict

Note : (Data corresponds to the period 4 Jun 2009 to 18 Dec 2013.)

List of Assembly Constituencies in Kandhamal Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kandhamal parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Baliguda (ST) G. Udayagiri (ST) Phulbani (ST)
Kantamal Boudh Daspalla (SC)

Last Updated on January 18, 2014

Compare Infobase Limited
(ISO 9001:2000 Certified Company)
Copyright elections.in All right reserved