Track your constituency

Live News

Birbhum Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Connection failed: Access denied for user 'elect_eleciondb'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Birbhum Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Satabdi RoyAll India Trinamool Congress653426065165407745.13Winner
Dudh Kumar MondalBharatiya Janata Party5637150143856515338.991st Runner-up
Karim RezaulCommunist Party Of India (Marxist)96673090967636.682nd Runner-up
Imam HossainIndian National Congress75451095755465.213rd Runner-up
Ahamed FarukRashtravadi Janata Party1517100151711.054th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above12307011123180.855th Runner-up
Prabir MukhopadhyayBahujan Samaj Party94590894670.656th Runner-up
Md. Firoj AliBharatiya National Janta Dal94000094000.657th Runner-up
Ayesha KhatunSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)59950560000.418th Runner-up
Chittaranjan HansdaIndependent55260255280.389th Runner-up

One of the 42 parliamentary constituencies of the state of West Bengal, Birbhum city belongs to the Birbhum District. The Birbhum Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 42) consists of 1,221,893 number of electorates in totality, of these 636,373 are males and 585,520 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. This Lok Sabha Constituency was formed prior to the 1951 elections and comprises of seven assembly segments of which 2 are reserved for SC. Prior to 2009 elections, this seat was reserved for the SC category only. Birbhum is an administrative unit of West Bengal with its headquarters located in Suri and Birbhum. It is located on the eastern side of the state of Jharkhand. The district is often referred to as the land of red soil and is 190 km away from Kolkata. It stands at an average elevation of 56 m and covers an area of over 4,500 sq km.

Birbhum has a population of over 3,502,000 of which around 22% lives in urban areas. About 52% of the population is male and the sex ratio is around 956 females for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate is around 70%. Birbhum is the home of world renowned Visva Bharati University, Shantiniketan which was established by Rabindranath Tagore. It is recognized for its cottage and textile industries. Birbhum is well connected to cities around the state by trains and the Panagarh-Morgram Highway runs through the area which connects it to NH-2 at Panagarh and with NH-34 at Morgram.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Birbhum Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Birbhum parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Birbhum constituency is Satabdi Roy (Banerjee) of AITC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201442BirbhumGENSatabdi Roy (Banerjee)FAITC460568Dr. Elahi Kamre MuhammadMCPM393305
200942BirbhumGENRoy,Smt. Satabdi FAITC486553Braja MukherjeeMCPM425034
200442Birbhum(SC)Ram Chandra DomeMCPM372294Gopal Chandra DasMINC180682
199942Birbhum(SC)Ram Chandra DomeMCPM373687Dr. Madan Lal ChoudhuryMBJP216531
199842Birbhum(SC)Dome Ram ChandraMCPM380314Dr Madan Lal ChoudhuryMBJP218802
199642Birbhum(SC)Ramchandra DomeMCPM402893Mamata SahaMINC291873
199142Birbhum(SC)Dome RamchandraMCPM334307Subhendu MondalMINC171276
198942Birbhum(SC)Dome RamchandraMCPM345898Badal BagdiMINC283949
198442Birbhum(SC)Gadahar SahaMCPM278155Badal BagdiMINC264674
198042Birbhum(SC)Gadadhar SahaMCPM223756Badal Chandra BagdiMINC(I)183093
197742Birbhum(SC)Gadadhar SahaMCPM136517Birendaban SahaMINC105968
197140Birbhum(SC)Gadadhar SahaMCPM80712Kanai Saha MINC72327
196740Birbhum(SC)S. K. SahaMINC83696G. BauriMFBL51479
196236Birbhum(SC)Sisir Kumar SahaMINC74573Mrityunjay MandalMFB42169
19577BirbhumGENKamal Krishna DasMINC239745Manmatha Nath DasMHMS169045
19577BirbhumGENAnil Kumar Chanda MINC197747Nitya Narayan BanerjeeMHMS131376
19514BirbhumGENAnil Kumar ChandaMINC116734Nitya Narayan Bandopadhyaya MHMS90311
19514BirbhumGENKamal Krishna Das MINC109722Mihir Lal Chattopadhyaya MKMPP58904

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Birbhum Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Birbhum parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Dubrajpur (SC)SuriSainthia (SC)

Last Updated on June 26, 2019