Track your constituency

Live News

Nagina Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Nagina Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Girish ChandraBahujan Samaj Party5671950118356837856.31Winner
Dr. Yashwant SinghBharatiya Janata Party3993480219840154639.781st Runner-up
Omvati DeviIndian National Congress19967079200461.992nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above649803065280.653rd Runner-up
AmichandRashtriya Samanta Dal61540261560.614th Runner-up
Charan SinghIndependent28770428810.295th Runner-up
Tej SinghAmbedkar Samaj Party21650421690.216th Runner-up
Kamesh KumarPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)17510117520.177th Runner-up

The Parliamentary Constituency of Nagina is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies of the state of Uttar Pradesh which was formed post the 2008 implementation of delimitation of parliamentary constituencies. 1,196,566 is the total electorate count in the Nagina Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5). Out of these 650,927 number of electorates are males and the remaining 545,639 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It presently comprises of five Vidhan Sabha segments and is reserved for the SC candidates. Nagina is a town in the Bijnor district. It is located in the north-western part of the state on the borders with Uttarakhand at an average elevation of 282 meters. Hindi is the official language of Nagina.

According to the census data of 2011, Nagina has a total population of 71,310 of which 53% are males and 47% are females. It has a sex ratio of 913 females per 1000 males and 14% of the total population is below six years of age. The city of Nagina has an average literacy of 79% with male literacy at 83% and female literacy at 64%. The majority of the population here is Muslims (66%) followed by 33% of Hindus. The economy of this city is primarily dependent on the wooden handicrafts industry. This city has a promising number of notable schools and colleges, both government and private. It is well connected to the other important cities around through a network of roads including NH-74.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Nagina Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Nagina parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Nagina constituency is Shri Yashwant Singh of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20145Nagina(SC)Yashwant SinghMBJP367825Yashvir SinghMSP275435
20095Nagina(SC)Singh,Shri Yashvir MSP234815Ram Kishan SinghMBSP175127

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Nagina Constituency

Name of MP Dr. Yashwant Singh
Age 56
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.B.B.S., M.D.
Activities of Dr. Yashwant Singh in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 32
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Nagina Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Nagina parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
NajibabadNagina (SC)Dhampur
Nehtaur (SC)Noorpur

Last Updated on Sept 01, 2021