Track your constituency

Live News

Gorakhpur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Ravindra Shyamnarayan Shukla Alias Ravi KishanBharatiya Janata Party7150100211271712260.54Winner
Rambhual NishadSamajwadi Party4143400111841545835.071st Runner-up
Madhusudan TripathiIndian National Congress228550117229721.942nd Runner-up
Dr. Ashish Kumar SinghCommunist Party Of India815701581720.693rd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above764704176880.654th Runner-up
Abhishek ChandSuheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party43170243190.365th Runner-up
Shyamnarayan YadavPragatishil Samajwadi Party (Lohia)27020627080.236th Runner-up
Subhash Chandra DubeySocialist Party (India)19820019820.177th Runner-up
Jitendra KumarJwala Dal15720015720.138th Runner-up
Jai Prakash MishraRashtrawadi Party Of India,13350113360.119th Runner-up
Awadhesh Kumar SinghShane Hind Fourm13050113060.1110th Runner-up

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

The Parliamentary Constituency of Gorakhpur is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies of the state of Uttar Pradesh. The total number of electorates in the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 64) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,696,474 of which 550 are 945,962 and 750,512 are females. It was formed in 1952, has five legislative assembly segments and according to 2004 data, the number of electorates is 1,432,002. The administrative headquarters of Gorakhpur district is situated in the religious city of Gorakhpur. It is located in the eastern part of the state near the border with Nepal. Situated on the banks of the rivers Rapti and Rohani, this town lies at an average elevation of 89 meters. Hindi is the official language of Gorakhpur.

According to the census data of 2011, Gorakhpur has a total population of 636,275 of which 53% are males and 47% are females. It has a sex ratio of 944 females per 1000 males. 10.91% of the population is below the age of six. The city of Gorakhpur has an average literacy of 82.39% with male literacy at 87.76% and female literacy at 76.46%. The economy of this city is basically dependent on the service industry. People from all over the eastern part of the state come here for education, medical and other facilities. Gorakhpur has a promising number of notable universities, schools and colleges that also includes a medical college. The headquarters of the North Eastern Railway of India is situated in this city. National Highways NH 28 and NH 29 intersect at Gorakhpur.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Gorakhpur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Gorakhpur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Gorakhpur constituency is Shri Yogi Adityanath of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
2018 (By-Poll)64GorakhpurGEN Pravin Kumar NishadMSamajwadi 456513Upendra Dutt ShuklaMBJP434632
201464GorakhpurGENAdityanathMBJP539127Rajmati NishadMSP226344
200964GorakhpurGENAdityanath ,Shri Yogi MBJP403156Vinay Shankar TiwariMBSP182885
200434GorakhpurGENAditya NathMBJP353647Jamuna NishadMSP211608
199938GorakhpurGENAditya NathMBJP267382Jamuna Prasad NishadMSP260043
199838GorakhpurGENAdityanathMBJP268428Jamuna Prasad NishadMSP242222
199638GorakhpurGENAvaidyanathMBJP236369Virender Pratap ShahiMSP179489
199138GorakhpurGENAwaidya NathMBJP228736Sharda Prasad RawatMJD137377
198938GorakhpurGENAvedya NathMHMS193821Rampal SinghMJD147984
198438GorakhpurGENMadan PandeyMINC191020Harikesh BahadurMLKD94420
198038GorakhpurGENHari Kesh BahadurMINC(I)108796Deep Narain YadavMJNP(S)92655
197738GorakhpurGENHarikesh BahadurMBLD238635Narsingh Narain PandeyMINC55581
197138GorakhpurGENNarsingh NarianMINC136843Avedh NathMIND99265
1970Bye PolGorakhpurGENA.NathMIND57001B.ChaturvediMNCJ37064
196738GorakhpurGEND. V. NathMIND121490S. L. Saxena MINC78775
196239GorakhpurGENSinhasan SinghMINC68258Digvijai Nath MHMS64998
195751Gorakhpur(SC)Sinhasan SinghMINC172662Brij LalMIND61371
195751Gorakhpur(SC)Mahadeo PrasadMINC167456Hori Lal Saxena MIND41606

List of Assembly Constituencies in Gorakhpur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Gorakhpur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
CaimpiyarganjPipraichGorakhpur Urban
Gorakhpur RuralSahajanwa

Last Updated on Sept 01, 2021