Track your constituency

Live News

Thiruvallur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Latest Election News and Update

Paswan NDA Alliance Bihar Paswan Causing Trouble to Bihar NDA Alliance

Bihar Election 2020 is expected to take place around October-November this year. Before that, many political activities are taking place in Bihar. The recent one is the tussle between the Read More…

Most Powerful BJP CM Yogi Adityanath Yogi Is the Only Powerful BJP Chief Minister

Coronavirus pandemic is spreading in India at a faster pace. Initially, the center had taken things into hands. The Modi Government was at the forefront of the fight against the Read More…

Sonia Priyanka Rahul Gandhi Analysis: Congress Repeating BJP’s Mistake of 2008

Every newspaper and news website of India is now having a headline concerning India China border clash. The government is trying its level best to resolve the crisis as soon Read More…

Yashwant Sinha Bihar Elections 2020 Yashwant Sinha Jumps in the Bihar Election With a New ‘Front’

Former BJP leader Yashwant Sinha has decided to try his luck in the upcoming Bihar Election 2020. He had handled finance and external affairs portfolios in the Bajpayee government. To Read More…

Madhya Pradesh Cabinet 2020 Madhya Pradesh Cabinet Expansion, 28 New Ministers took Oath

After long consultations with the senior leadership, Shivraj Singh Chouhan has finally expanded his cabinet. 28 new ministers took oath today and it was administered by Anandiben Patel. She had Read More…

Cast Politics in Bihar Analysis: How Caste Plays A Significant Role For Bihar Election

India is going to witness a heightened political activity since the end of 2020. Mainly because the term of many state assemblies is going to expire. There will be Bihar Read More…

Formed post the Presidential notification of the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies of 2008, the Lok Sabha Constituency of Thiruvallur is one of Tamil Nadu’s 39 constituencies. The total number of electorates in the Thiruvallur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 1) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,204,209 of which 605,882 are males and 598,327 are females. It is reserved for the SC category, has six Vidhan Sabha segments and constitutes of 1,204,209 voters. It represents the Thiruvallur District which is located to the north eastern end of the state, along the Bay of Bengal. Its headquarters are in the city of Thiruvallur and it has nine talukas with over 800 villages. Sprawling over an area of 3,425 sq km, it has a population of 3,725,697.

With a population density of 1,049 inhabitants per sq km, it had a growth rate of over 35% from 2001 to 2011 making it the 70th most populated district of India and the 4th most populated district of the state. The sex ratio is 983 females per 1000 males, with almost 11% of the population being under the age of six. The average literacy rate of the district is 83% and over 54% of the population is urban. The official language of the area is Tamil. It is a highly developed district and has several avenues of industrial production. The National Highway NH-205 passes through the district.

Tiruvallur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Dr.K.JayakumarIndian National Congress7640930319976729254.49Winner
Dr.P.VenugopalAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam4092740106341033729.141st Runner-up
Logarangan.MMakkal Needhi Maiam735550176737315.242nd Runner-up
M.VetriselviNaam Tamilar Katchi652540162654164.653rd Runner-up
Pon.RajaIndependent33869075339442.414th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above181750100182751.35th Runner-up
R.AnbuchezhianBahujan Samaj Party15153034151871.086th Runner-up
C.KalanithiAnti Corruption Dynamic Party41530941620.37th Runner-up
MurugesanIndependent31850031850.238th Runner-up
A.ManikandanIndependent31230331260.229th Runner-up
Vijaya .R.Independent23630523680.1710th Runner-up
C.BharathIndependent19760119770.1411th Runner-up
N.VikramanIndependent19420019420.1412th Runner-up
D.Ravi PariyanarRepublican Party Of India (A)17540617600.1213th Runner-up
V.GunasekaranIndependent907019080.0614th Runner-up
G.ArulrajIndependent871018720.0615th Runner-up
D.AnandarajIndependent788017890.0616th Runner-up
K.ChandrasekarIndependent762007620.0517th Runner-up
G.GeorgeIndependent726027280.0518th Runner-up
S.SargunamIndependent722017230.0519th Runner-up
K.KamalanathanIndependent704017050.0520th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Thiruvallur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Thiruvallur parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Thiruvallur constituency is Venugopal.P.(Dr) of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20091Thiruvallur(SC)Venugopal,Dr. Ponnusamy MAIADMK368294Gayathri.SMDMK336621

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Tiruvallur Constituency

Name of MP Dr. Ponnusamy Venugopal
Age 66
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.B.B.S.
Activities of Dr. Ponnusamy Venugopal in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 75
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 546
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Thiruvallur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Thiruvallur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
GummidipoondiPonneri (SC)Thiruvallur
Poonamallee (SC)AvadiMadavaram

Last Updated on July 6, 2019