Track your constituency

Live News

Tenkasi Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Connection failed: Access denied for user 'elect_eleciondb'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

One of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu, Tenkasi Lok Sabha Constituency represents the Tirunelveli District and has 1,063,614 voters. 1,063,614 is the total electorate count in the Tenkasi Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 37). Out of these 530,196 number of electorates are males and the remaining 533,418 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. This constituency came into existence in 1957 and comprises of six legislative assembly segments and is reserved for the SC category. The town of Tenkasi is situated near the Coutallam Waterfalls, at the foothills of the Western Ghats. It has an average elevation of 143 m and is bordered by Kerala on its West. Tamil and English are the official languages here.

As per 2001 census, it has a population of over 63,000 people of which 7,242 are under the age of 6. About 51% of the population is male and the sex ratio is 982 females for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate of the city is 83%. About 15% of the population belongs to the SC category and 0.90% belongs to the ST category. Agriculture, tourism, oil refining, handloom and several other small scale industries are a part of the economic setup of the city. Several State Highways are connected to the city and place it in a large road network. Additionally, the National Highway NH-7 passes through the district connecting to the major cities in and around the city.

Tenkasi Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Dhanush.M.KumarDravida Munnetra Kazhagam4703460581047615644.69Winner
Dr.Krishnasamy.KAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam3542160165435587033.41st Runner-up
Ponnuthai. SIndependent911300986921168.642nd Runner-up
Mathivanan.S.SNaam Tamilar Katchi588550590594455.583rd Runner-up
Muneshwaran. KMakkal Needhi Maiam238440179240232.254th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above139000156140561.325th Runner-up
Ponnuthai.MIndependent472301047330.446th Runner-up
Perumalsamy. SIndependent43270743340.417th Runner-up
Bharatharaj. SIndependent42260042260.48th Runner-up
Ponnusamy.RIndependent33020433060.319th Runner-up
Suriyaragupathi. TIndependent30000230020.2810th Runner-up
Palani Samy.SIndependent29460429500.2811th Runner-up
Ponnuthai.GIndependent24240324270.2312th Runner-up
Selvakumar. MIndependent22220822300.2113th Runner-up
Moorthy. DIndependent19800519850.1914th Runner-up
Deepan Arun.AIndependent19640119650.1815th Runner-up
Sivajayaprakash.SIndependent19390819470.1816th Runner-up
Muthumurugan. MIndependent17280617340.1617th Runner-up
Sundaram.NIndependent14860414900.1418th Runner-up
Thamarai Selvam. KIndependent14710214730.1419th Runner-up
Dhanuskodi.PIndependent12410412450.1220th Runner-up
Ravi. KAnti Corruption Dynamic Party116502911940.1121th Runner-up
Ponnuthai. MIndependent111801111290.1122th Runner-up
Vairavan. PIndependent996029980.0923th Runner-up
Subbiah. SIndependent804048080.0824th Runner-up
Thangaraj. CIndependent723047270.0725th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Tenkasi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Tenkasi parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Tenkasi constituency is Vasanthi.M of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
200937Tenkasi(SC)P. LingamMCPI281174Vellaipandi GMINC246497
200437Tenkasi(SC)Appadurai, M.MCPI348000Murugesan. SMADMK225824
199637Tenkasi(SC)Arunachalam, M.MTMC(M)290663Selvaraj V.MINC194737
199137Tenkasi(SC)Arunachalam M.MINC381721Sadhan Thirumalaikumar T.MDMK199635
198437Tenkasi(SC)M. ArunachalamMINC360517R. KrishnanMCPM168950
198037Tenkasi(SC)Arunachalam M.MINC(I)272260Rajagopalan S.MJNP163944
197737Tenkasi(SC)Arunachalam M.MINC305069Rajagopalan S.MDMK118193
197137Tenkasi(SC)A. M. CnellachamiMINC223182R. S. Arumugam MNCO154272
196737Tenkasi(SC)R. S. ArumugamMINC166737VeluMSWA160991
196239TenkasiGENM. P. SwamyMINC165169S. A. Muruganandam MCPI93729
195726TenkasiGENM. SankarapandianMINC125821N. Shanmugam MCPI121021

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Tenkasi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Tenkasi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Rajapalayam Srivilliputhur (SC) Sankarankovil (SC)
Vasudevanallur (SC) Kadayanallur Tenkasi

Last Updated on July 6, 2019