Track your constituency

Live News

Erode General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

Erode Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu, which presently comprises of six Vidhan Sabha segments of which one is for the SC category. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Erode Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 18) were 1,010,079 of which 502,945 are females and 507,134 are males. It has 1,010,079 voters and came into existence post the 2008 delimitation of constituencies. The administrative headquarters of Erode District is situated in the city of Erode. It is located at a distance of about 400 km from Chennai and about 80 km from Combaitore. The city lies at an average elevation of 183 meters and covers an area of 9 sq. km. Tamil is the official language here.

As per the census data of 2011, Eorde has a population of 521,776 of which 51% are males and about 10% of the total population is children below the age of six. The city has an average literacy rate of 85%, 83% of male literacy and73% female literacy. More than 30,000 people of the city reside in slums. Hindus have a religious majority. 35% of the workforce is involved in urban activities. Textile industries, trade and small manufacturing units are found all over the city. NH-47, SH-15, SH-37, SH-79, SH-79A, SH-84, SH-84A and SH-96 pass through the city.

Erode Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Ganeshamurthi ADravida Munnetra Kazhagam5589290466256359152.78Winner
Manimaran GAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam352330064335297333.051st Runner-up
Saravanakumar AMakkal Needhi Maiam475740145477194.472nd Runner-up
Seethalakshmi M KNaam Tamilar Katchi388490161390103.653rd Runner-up
Senthilkumar K CIndependent25818040258582.424th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above14696099147951.395th Runner-up
Gopal MBahujan Samaj Party412801041380.396th Runner-up
Kuppusamy PUlzaipali Makkal Katchy33780133790.327th Runner-up
Dharmalingam SIndependent24550024550.238th Runner-up
Arunachalam AIndependent206901120800.199th Runner-up
Kuppusamy RGanasangam Party Of India16030016030.1510th Runner-up
Ganeshamurthy A CIndependent15370215390.1411th Runner-up
Karthikeyan PIndependent15020615080.1412th Runner-up
ChitraIndependent14450114460.1413th Runner-up
Subramanian KIndependent12760212780.1214th Runner-up
Paramasivam NIndependent11670011670.1115th Runner-up
Ganeshamoorthy MIndependent10020410060.0916th Runner-up
Kathirvel AIndependent727017280.0717th Runner-up
Mani AIndependent578015790.0518th Runner-up
Natarajan AIndependent525015260.0519th Runner-up
Ananthi SIndependent485004850.0520th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Erode Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Erode parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Erode constituency is Shri Selvakumara Chinnayan S of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201418ErodeGENSelvakumara Chinnayan SMAIADMK466995Ganeshamurthi.AMMDMK255432
200918ErodeGENGaneshamurthi,Shri A. MMDMK284148Elangovan.E.V.K.S.MINC234812

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Erode Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Erode parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kumarapalayam Erode East Erode West
Modakurichi Dharapuram (SC) Kangayam

Last Updated on July 5, 2019