Track your constituency

Live News

Chennai North Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Connection failed: Access denied for user 'elect_eleciondb'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
One of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu, Chennai North is one of the three Lok Sabha constituencies of Chennai. 1,016,663 is the total electorate count in the Chennai North Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 2). Out of these 510,120 number of electorates are males and the remaining 506,543 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest. It was formed before the 1957 elections and comprises of six legislative assembly segments of which one is reserved for the SC category. It was earlier known as Madras North and has a total number of 1,016,663 voters. Chennai is the capital of Tamil Nadu and it has a metropolitan area of 1,189 sq km. It lies on the Coromandel Coast along the Bay of Bengal. It is the sixth most densely populated city of the country and is home to over 8,696,000 people. About 4,390,000 males and 4,307,000 females reside here.

It has a population density of 26,702 people per sq km and the sex ratio is 981 females per 1000 males. Children constitute about 12% of the total population and there is an 83.3% Hindu majority here. It is the 31st largest urban settlement of the world. Tamil and English are the most prevalent languages here. The average literacy rate is 90.35% with a male literacy rate of 93.57% and a female literacy rate of 87.08%. NH-4, NH-5, NH-45 and NH-205 are the National Highways passing through the metro.

Chennai North Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Dr. Kalanidhi VeeraswamyDravida Munnetra Kazhagam5890340195259098661.85Winner
Alagaapuram R. MohanrajDesiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam129076039212946813.551st Runner-up
A. G. MouryaMakkal Needhi Maiam102980018710316710.82nd Runner-up
Kaliyammal.PNaam Tamilar Katchi604110104605156.333rd Runner-up
P.Santhana KrishnanIndependent33232045332773.484th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above15619068156871.645th Runner-up
S.Robert Gnana SekarBahujan Samaj Party44130744200.466th Runner-up
KameshTamil Nadu Ilangyar Katchi26650426690.287th Runner-up
S.SelvarajIndependent24580124590.268th Runner-up
G.SrinivasanIndependent16770016770.189th Runner-up
S.GaneshIndependent14590214610.1510th Runner-up
C.DhanrajIndependent11150111160.1211th Runner-up
V.SaravananIndependent10680210700.1112th Runner-up
M.L.RaviDesiya Makkal Sakthi Katchi943029450.113th Runner-up
J. SebastinSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)900009000.0914th Runner-up
N.Satheesh KannanIndependent845028470.0915th Runner-up
L.Praveen KumarPeople'S Party Of India(Secular)768007680.0816th Runner-up
A.G.DamodharanIndependent762017630.0817th Runner-up
K.PrabhakaranMakkalatchi Katchi678016790.0718th Runner-up
R.ArulmuruganIndependent614016150.0619th Runner-up
P.MarimuthuIndependent565015660.0620th Runner-up
S.PrithvirajIndependent555005550.0621th Runner-up
L.RajIndependent531025330.0622th Runner-up
J.DharanidharanIndependent402004020.0423th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Chennai North Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Chennai North parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Chennai North constituency is Shri Venkatesh Babu .T.G of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20142Chennai NorthGENVenkatesh Babu .T.GMAIADMK406704Girirajan .RMDMK307000
20092Chennai NorthGENT.K.S. ElangovanMDMK281055Pandian. DMCPI261902
20041Madras NorthGENKuppusami. CMDMK570122Sukumar Nambiar. M NMBJP316583
19991Madras NorthGENKuppusamy, C.MDMK471101Soundara Rajan, A.MCPM311312
19981Madras NorthGENKuppusami CMDMK401322Sabapathy Mohan, R.T.MMDMK332229
19961Madras NorthGENSomu N.V.NMDMK559048Pandian.DMINC169431
19911Madras NorthGEND. PandianMINC400454Arunachalam Alias Aladi ArunaMDMK281936
19891Madras NorthGEND. PandianMINC445197N. V. M. SomuMDMK331426
19841Madras NorthGENN.V.N.SomuMDMK261941G.LakshmananMINC225491
19801Madras NorthGENLakshmanan G.MDMK297268Abdul Khader M.S.MADK197950
19771Madras NorthGENAsai Thambi A.V.P.MDMK250852Manoharan K.MADK205749
19711Madras NorthGENK. ManoharanMDMK245401S. G. Vinayagamoorthy MNCO193807
19671Madras NorthGENK. ManoharanMDMK227783S. C. C. A. Pillai MINC166449
19621Madras NorthGENP. SrinivasanMINC122160Abdus Samad MML113311
19571Madras NorthGENS. C. C. Anthony PillaiMIND86139T. ChengalvarayanMINC76141

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Chennai North Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Chennai North parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Thiruvottiyur Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Perambur
Kolathur Thiru Vi. Ka. Nagar (SC) Royapuram

Last Updated on July 5, 2019