Track your constituency

Live News

Chennai Central Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Chennai Central is one of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of the state of Tamil Nadu and is one of the three constituencies representing the Metropolitan of Chennai. The Chennai Central Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 4) has a total of 1,000,705 electorates out of which 497,333 are females and 503,372 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It was formed before the 1977 elections and comprises of six legislative assembly segments one of which is reserved for the SC category. It was earlier known as Madras Central and has 1,000,705 electors. The city of Chennai is the capital of Tamil Nadu and it covers a total metropolitan area of 1,189 sq km. It is situated on the Coromandel Coast along the Bay of Bengal and is the sixth most populated city of the country and is houses over 8,696,000 people of which about 4,390,000 are males and 4,307,000 are females.

The area has a total population density of 26,702 inhabitants per sq km and the sex ratio is 981 females for every 1000 males. Child population comprises of about 12% of the total population and Hindus have an 83.3% majority here. It is the 31st largest urban settlement in the world. Tamil and English are the widely spoken languages here. Chennai has an average literacy rate of 90.35% with male literacy rate being 93.57% and female literacy rate being 87.08%. The National Highways of NH-4, NH-5, NH-45 and NH-205 pass through the metro.

Chennai Central Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Dayanidhi MaranDravida Munnetra Kazhagam4471500176144891157.15Winner
Sam Paul. S.R.Pattali Makkal Katchi146813057814739118.771st Runner-up
Kameela NasserMakkal Needhi Maiam9204702029224911.742nd Runner-up
Dr.Karthikeyan. RNaam Tamilar Katchi30809077308863.933rd Runner-up
Sheik Mohamed @ Dhehlan BaqaviSocial Democratic Party Of India23690051237413.024th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above13768054138221.765th Runner-up
Karnan.C.S.Anti Corruption Dynamic Party57630557680.736th Runner-up
Jitendra Kumar Jain.Republican Party Of India (A)33970133980.437th Runner-up
Parthasarathy.M.Bahujan Samaj Party268401226960.348th Runner-up
Kuppusamy. K.Independent17690117700.239th Runner-up
Sasikumar.S.Tamil Nadu Ilangyar Katchi15550115560.210th Runner-up
Sam PaulIndependent14400414440.1811th Runner-up
Samuel PaulIndependent12320212340.1612th Runner-up
Dr. Gunasekar. NIndependent12270212290.1613th Runner-up
Govindaraj. L.Independent11840011840.1514th Runner-up
Geethalakshmi.V.R.Pyramid Party Of India10280210300.1315th Runner-up
Chandranathan. S.Independent929009290.1216th Runner-up
Suresh Babu. D.Desiya Makkal Sakthi Katchi690006900.0917th Runner-up
NajimunnissaAnaithu Makkal Katchi643026450.0818th Runner-up
Valarmathi. K.Akila India Vallalar Peravai641026430.0819th Runner-up
Tamilarasan. V.V.Independent510015110.0720th Runner-up
Radhakrishnan. V.Independent503015040.0621th Runner-up
Raj RamchandIndependent496014970.0622th Runner-up
Prabhakaran. N.Independent377003770.0523th Runner-up
Nasar. K.Independent360003600.0524th Runner-up
Vaithiyanathan. RIndependent355013560.0525th Runner-up
Prabakaran. K.M.Independent334003340.0426th Runner-up
Dinakaran. G.Independent324013250.0427th Runner-up
Raghavan. M.Independent321013220.0428th Runner-up
Madhanagopal. TIndependent235002350.0329th Runner-up
Pushparaj. J. L.Independent216002160.0330th Runner-up
Ravichandran. MIndependent196011970.0331th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Chennai Central Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Chennai Central parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Chennai Central constituency is S.R. Vijayakumar of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20144Chennai CentralGENS.R. VijayakumarMAIADMK333296Dayanidhi MaranMDMK287455
20094Chennai CentralGENThiru Dayanidhi MaranMDMK285783Mogamed Ali Jinnah S.M.KMADMK252329
20042Madras CentralGENDayanidhi MaranMDMK316329Balaganga N.MADMK182151
19992Madras CentralGENMurasoli MaranMDMK364565Abdul Latheef, M.MADMK227616
19982Madras CentralGENMurasoli MaranMDMK300774Jayakumar, DMADMK229047
19962Madras CentralGENMurasoli MaranMDMK403867G.K.J.BharathiMINC123400
19912Madras CentralGENAnbarasu EraMINC312302Somu N.V.N.MDMK209031
19892Madras CentralGENAnbarasu EraMINC329739Kalinidhi A.MDMK263333
19842Madras CentralGENKalanidhi A.MDMK313848Earnest Paul E.MGKC217104
19802Madras CentralGENKalanidhi A.MDMK290199Ramachandran P.MJNP185150
19772Madras CentralGENRamachandran P.MNCO259437Raja Mohamed KMADK186026

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Chennai Central Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Chennai Central parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Villivakkam Egmore (SC) Harbour
Chepauk-Thiruvallikeni Thousand Lights Anna Nagar

Last Updated on July 5, 2019