Track your constituency

Live News

Jajpur Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Jajpur (or Jajapur) Lok Sabha Constituency, formed before the 1962 elections, is one of the 21 constituencies of Odisha reserved for the SC category and has seven Vidhan Sabha segments. The Jajpur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 8) consists of 1,227,088 number of electorates in
totality, of these 649,248 are males and 577,840 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. Jajpur city is the administrative headquarters in the Jajpur district and lies on the banks of the River Baitarani at an average elevation of eight metres. Jajpur district is spread over an area of 2,899 sq kms. 

The district of Jajpur had a total population of over 18,27,100, of which 52% comprised of males and 11% was under the age of six. The sex ratio is 973 females per 1,000 males. The average literacy rate is 80% and the male and female literacy rate of the Jajpur district is 87% and 73%, respectively. Oriya and Hindi are the primary languages and English is mostly used for the commercial and educational purposes. Urdu is also spoken here. Several schools and colleges are situated here and the area is economically dependent mostly upon agriculture.

Both kharif and dalua kind of rice grains are grown here. Mining also plays an important role in the economy along with the steel plants of Jindal, Tata, Maithan, etc. National Highway NH-215 connects the city to a large road network.

Jajpur Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Sarmistha SethiBiju Janata Dal5424760154454402049.81Winner
Amiya Kanta MallickBharatiya Janata Party4381710415644232740.51st Runner-up
Manas JenaIndian National Congress828340487833217.632nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above714901271610.663rd Runner-up
Subasa Chandra MalikSocialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)493401649500.454th Runner-up
Tilottama SethyProutist Bloc, India44670344700.415th Runner-up
Ranjit MalikBahujan Mukti Party20410820490.196th Runner-up
Sunakar BeheraJai Prakash Janata Dal19820319850.187th Runner-up
Bhima Sen BeheraFreethought Party Of India17940718010.168th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Jajpur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Jajpur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Jajpur constituency is Shri Rita Tarai of BJD.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20148Jajpur(SC)Rita TaraiFBJD541349Asok DasMINC221078
20098Jajpur(SC)Jena,Shri Mohan MBJD433350Amiya Kanta MallikMINC305603
20044Jajpur(SC)Mohan JenaMBJD452177Amiya Kanta MallikMINC400711
19994Jajpur(SC)Jagannath MallikMBJD351442Rama Chandra MallikMINC237458
19984Jajpur(SC)Rama Chandra MallickMINC283455Jagannath MallikMBJD191591
19964Jajpur(SC)Anchal DasMJD294110Anadi DasMINC290237
19914Jajpur(SC)Anadi Charan DasMJD259523Nabakishore MallikMINC248094
19894Jajpur(SC)Anadi Charan DasMJD326710Rama Chandra MallickMINC247378
19844Jajpur(SC)Anadi Charan DasMINC252316Rama Chandra MallickMJNP192811
19804Jajpur(SC)Anadi Charan DasMINC(I)191676Ram Chandra MallickMJNP(S)106738
19774Jajpur(SC)Rama Chandra MallickMBLD171191Baishnab Charan MallickMINC121531
19714Jajpur(SC)Anandi Charan DasMINC149208Rama Chandra MallickMUTC73070
19674Jajpur(SC)B. BeheraMPSP171207R. C. MallickMINC107170
196216Jajpur(SC)Ramachandra MallickMINC80748Baishnab Charan MallickMPSP45051

List of Assembly Constituencies in Jajpur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Jajpur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Binjharpur (SC) Bari Barachana
Dharmasala Jajpur Korei

Last Updated on July 12, 2019