Track your constituency

Live News

Daman & Diu General (Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019 Updates

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Daman & Diu Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Lalubhai Babubhai PatelBharatiya Janata Party375860113759742.98Winner
Ketan Dahyabhai PatelIndian National Congress276430122765531.621st Runner-up
Patel Umeshbhai BabubhaiIndependent19935031993822.792nd Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above14870014871.73rd Runner-up
Sakil Latif KhanBahujan Samaj Party790027920.914th Runner-up

List of Candidates Contesting for Daman & Diu Lok Sabha General Election 2019 - Click Here

Lok Sabha Members from Daman and diu

The table below shows the List of Winning candidates from all Lok Sabha seats of Daman and diu for the year 2014.

Daman And Diu Results 2014 - List of Winning Candidates in Lok Sabha Election

ConstituencyStatusCandidate NamePartyVotes
Daman And Diu WinnerPatel Lalubhai Babubhai BJP 9222

The second smallest union territory of India, the Union Territory of Daman and Diu in Western India, is represented by one parliamentary constituency
in the Lok Sabha. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Daman and Diu Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 1) were 95,382 of which 47,025 are females and 48,357 are males. The Daman and Diu parliamentary constituency belongs to one Member of Parliament or MP who represents the concerns of the whole Union Territory in the Lower House of Parliament.

Following the implementation of the Goa, Daman and Diu Reorganization Act of 1987, the Daman and Diu Lok Sabha constituency came into existence in 1987. It was in the same year that it fought its first Lok Sabha elections. Lying between the states of Maharashtra and Gujarat, this Union Territory survives on the rich economy not only of agriculture, animal husbandry and forestry, but on a heavy flourishing industrial economy as well as on the industry of tourism. According to the Census 2011, the population of this UT is 2,42,911.

Daman and Diu General (Lok Sabha) Election History
Daman and Diu has only one parliamentary constituency in the Lok Sabha. Following is a detailed description of each General Election contested here:
  • The first General (Lok Sabha) Elections held in Daman and Diu was in 1987 and it was won by INC.
  • The 1989 General (Lok Sabha) Election was won by an independent candidate.
  • In the Lok Sabha Elections of 1991, the sole parliamentary constituency of Daman and Diu was bagged by BJP.
  • The General Elections of 1996 in Daman and Diu were won by INC.
  • In 1998, BJP won the Lok Sabha seat of the UT in the General Elections.
  • The General (Lok Sabha) Elections of 1999 resulted in the victory of INC in the Union Territory.
  • In the Lok Sabha (General) Elections of 2004, the only parliamentary constituency of Daman and Diu was won by the INC for a second consecutive term.
  • In the 2009 Lok Sabha Elections, BJP won the Daman and Diu parliamentary constituency.
*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Daman and Diu Constituency

Name of MP Shri Lalubhai Babubhai Patel
Age 63
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Matriculate
Activities of Shri Lalubhai Babubhai Patel in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 5
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 20
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Daman And Diu Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Daman And Diu parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Daman And Diu constituency is Patel Lalubhai Babubhai of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20141Daman And DiuGENPatel Lalubhai BabubhaiMBJP46960Ketan Dahyabhai PatelMINC37738
20091Daman And DiuGENPatel,Shri Lalubhai Babubhai MBJP44546Dahyabhai Vallabhbhai PatelMINC19708
20041Daman And DiuGENPatel Dahyabhai VallabhbhaiMINC27523Gopal K. TandelMBJP26916
19991Daman And DiuGENPatel Dahyabhai VallabhbhaiMINC25136Tandel Devjibhai JogibhaiMBJP21910
19981Daman And DiuGENDevjibhai J. TandelMBJP21649Dahyabhai Vallabhbhai PatelMIND20413
19961Daman And DiuGENTandel Gopalbhai KalyanbhaiMINC24543Tandal Devjibhai JogibhaiMBJP19612
19911Daman And DiuGENTandel Dev Ji Jogi BhaiMBJP12095Tandel Gopal Bhai Kalyan BhaiMIND9808
19891Daman And DiuGENTandel Devji JogibhaiMIND15647Tandel Gopalbhai KalyanbhaiMINC13807
19871Daman And DiuGENT.G.KalanbhaiMINC17027F.N.SrinivasanMIND9303

Last Updated on July 8, 2019