Track your constituency
Track your constituency

Daman & Diu Lok Sabha General Election 2019 - Schedule, Live News Updates and Results

Quick facts for Daman and Diu Elections

Parliamentary Constituencies1
Assembly Constituencies NA
Ruling Party-
Opposition Party-
Chief MinisterPresident Rule
GovernorPraful Khoda Patel
Chief Electoral Officer

Election Schedule for Daman & Diu Lok Sabha General Election 2019

Phase IPhase II Phase III Phase IV Phase V Phase VIPhase VII
Daman & Diu--23/Apr----

List of Candidates Contesting for Daman & Diu Lok Sabha General Election 2019 - Click Here

Daman & Diu Lok Sabha General Election 2019 Constituency Wise Results

Results will be declared on 23rd May 2019
Constituency Name
CategoryWinning CandidateWinning Party

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 - Party Wise Election Results

Name of State/ UT Parliamentary Constituency Candidate Party EVM Votes Migrant Votes Postal Votes Total Votes % of Votes Winner Runner-Up
Daman & Diu Daman & Diu Lalubhai Babubhai Patel Bharatiya Janata Party 37586 0 11 37597 42.98 Yes No
Daman & Diu Daman & Diu Ketan Dahyabhai Patel Indian National Congress 27643 0 12 27655 31.62 No Yes
Daman & Diu Daman & Diu Patel Umeshbhai Babubhai Independent 19935 0 3 19938 22.79 No No
Daman & Diu Daman & Diu Nota None Of The Above 1487 0 0 1487 1.7 No No
Daman & Diu Daman & Diu Sakil Latif Khan Bahujan Samaj Party 790 0 2 792 0.91 No No

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 - Constituency Wise Election Results (Winner/Runner Up)

Name of State/ UT Parliamentary Constituency Winner Party Total Votes % of Votes Runner-Up Party Total Votes % of Votes
Daman & Diu Daman & Diu Lalubhai Babubhai Patel Bharatiya Janata Party 37597 42.98 Ketan Dahyabhai Patel Indian National Congress 27655 31.62

List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 - Click Here

Daman and Diu Lok Sabha Election Summary 2014

As predicted in the exit polls, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the lone Daman and Diu seat.The second smallest Union Territory of India, Daman and Diu came into existence in 1987. The UT is represented by a single constituency in the Lok Sabha. Daman and Diu is presently ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which had been victorious three times in the UT, on the other hand, the Indian National Congress (INC) has seen four victories. The UT is not a political hub and therefore none of the political parties in the country have campaigned in the UT. In the 2014 general elections, the UT participated for the lone constituency and around 76% voter turnout was reported on the election day.

Major Political Parties of Daman and Diu

Currently ruled by the BJP under the leadership of Lalubhai Patel, the Congress will look to make a comeback in this constituency. Since its formation, the incumbent BJP has seen three general election victories, while Congress has seen four wins. Tandel Devji Jogibhai, who won the 1989 general elections as an independent, joined forces with the BJP and went on to win the 1991 and 1998 elections for the party. As far as Congress is concerned, the party has been successful under the leadership of Tandel Gopalbhai Kalyanbhai and Patel Dahyabhai Vallabhbhai in the past.

List of Administrators of Daman and Diu

The Administrator of Daman and Diu is appointed by the President of India. Unlike governors of states, he is not the ceremonial head but in fact represents the Centre and has all executive powers. The first Administrator of Daman and Diu was Gopal Singh, who assumed office in 1987. Currently, B.S. Bhalla is the Administrator of this Union Territory since his appointment in 2012.

Demographics of Daman and Diu

The territory constitutes an area of 112 sq. km. The capital of the territory is Daman. As per the Indian census data of 2011, the overall population of close to 2,43,000. Males constitute a 52% male majority of the population, while females constitute 48%. The main languages spoken here are Gujarati, Marathi and English.

List of Administrators of Dadra and Nagar Haveli

Sr. No.Name of AdministratorFromTo
1Praful Khoda PatelAug 29, 2016 Incumbent
2Vikram Dev DuttMar 14, 2016 Aug 29, 2016
3Ashish KundraAug 18, 2014 Mar 13, 2016
4B. S. BhallaSep 28, 2012Aug 18, 2014
5Shri. Narendra Kumar, IAS20112012
6Shri Satya Gopal, IAS20092011
7R.K. Verma20062009
8Arun Mathur20032006
9O.P. KelkarJul 19, 19992003
10Ramesh Negi(acting)Apr 23, 1999Jul 19, 1999
11Sanat KaulFeb 23, 1999Apr 23, 1999
12Ramesh Negi(acting)Jun 26, 1998Feb 23, 1999
13S.P. AggarwalJul 15, 1995Jun 26, 1998
14Ramesh ChandraMar 28, 1994Jul 15, 1995
15K.S. BaidwanMar 16, 1992Mar 28, 1994
16Bhanu Prakash SinghMar 25, 1991Mar 16, 1992
17Khurshed Alam KhanJul 18, 1989Mar 25, 1991
18Gopal SinghMay 30, 1987Jul 18, 1989

Last Updated on Feb 24, 2020

Live at 6 PM | Bihar Exit Poll | Exit Poll

Live at 5PM | Bihar Elections - ओवैसी का बुख़ार महागठबंधन को | Sanjay Dixit

Latest Election News and Update Bihar Exit Poll NDA Wins Bihar Election: Accurately Predicted by – Chintamani Exit Poll

The – Chintamani Exit poll for Bihar Election 2020 couldn’t have been more accurate to predict the win of NDA. When all the other exit polls had projected a Read More…

Bihar Election Result LIVE Update Bihar Election Results LIVE Updates

9:37:41 PM Mayawati’s BSP has secured 1 seat in Bihar Elections. While AIMIM had won 3 seats and is leading on 2. In the case of Left parties, CPI and Read More…

Bihar Exit Poll Unpredictability The Unpredictability of Exit Polls in Bihar Election

The Bihar Election 2020 Exit Polls have failed to give a uniform prediction about the winner. This means that the actual Bihar Election Result 2020 can swing in any direction. Read More…