Track your constituency

Barasat Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Rahul hid Income info from Election Commission: New BJP Salvo

BJP on Sunday accused Congress president Rahul Gandhi of hiding facts about his income from the Election Commission and alleged that he made huge profits through highly inflated rentals and Read More…

Loksabha Elections 2019 Amit Shah says that Election is Modi vs Faceless Opposition

Dubbing the Lok Sabha elections as a contest between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a ‘faceless’ alliance of opposition parties, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah, on Sunday, appealed Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

The Barasat Parliamentary Constituency is one of West Bengal's 42 Lok Sabha constituencies which came into being in 1957 and has 1,226,654 voters. The Barasat Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 17) consists of 1,226,654 number of electorates in totality, of these 640,075 are males and 586,579 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It comprises of seven legislative assembly segments. Barasat is the district headquarters of the North 24 Parganas and it has a total area of over 12 sq km. The Sealdah Station is located 22 km from here and the River Ganges is 15 km away.

As per the 2011 census data, the total population residing in the town of Barasat is over 283,400 of which 143,732 are males and 139,711 are females. About 17% of the population is under the age of six and the sex ratio is 972 females per 1000 males. The population density is roughly over 2,200 people per sq km. With an average literacy rate of 90.42%, the male and female literacy rates are 93.14% and 87.62% respectively. Bengali is the official language here while English is also widely spoken in the area. Many schools, both public and private, are located here as well several colleges. Trade of rice, potatoes, cotton and coconuts play a vital part of the economic setup of the city. The National Highways NH-34 and NH-35 pass through the district.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Barasat Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Barasat parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Barasat constituency is Dr. Kakali Ghoshdostidar of AITC.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Currentr MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201417BarasatGENDr. Kakali GhoshdostidarFAITC525387Dr. Mortoza HossainMAIFB352246
200917BarasatGENDastidar, Dr. (Smt.) Kakoli Ghosh FAITC522530Sudin ChattopadhyayMAIFB399629
200413BarasatGENSubrata BoseMAIFB520384Dr. Ranjit Kumar PanjaMAITC508224
199913BarasatGENDr.Ranjit Kumar PanjaMAITC518520Saral DebMFBL421620
199813BarasatGENDr Ranjit Kumar PanjaMWBTC499181Chitra GhoshMFBL432474
199613BarasatGENChitta BasuMFBL484474Ranjit Kumar PanjaMINC449127
199113BarasatGENChitta BasuMFBL382896Ashok Krishna DuttMINC338475
198913BarasatGENChitta BasuMFBL448543Tarun Kanti GhoshMINC393174
198413BarasatGENTarun Kanti GhoshMINC343184Chitta BasuMFBL330572
198013BarasatGENChitta BasuMFBL297758Harasit GhoshMINC(I)203838
197713BarasatGENChitta BasuMFBL203694Ranen SenMCPI87900
197112BarasatGENRanendra Nath SenMCPI111806Hemanta Gangopadhyay MCPM102567
196712BarasatGENR. N. SenMCPI143883A. C. Guha MINC111312
196210BarasatGENArun Chandra GuhaMINC188398Bhowani Sankar Sengupta MCPI141595
195727BarasatGENArun Chandra GuhaMINC139783Bhowani Sankar Sen GuptaMCPI133742

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Barasat Constituency

Name of MP Dr. (Smt.) Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar
Age 59
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Female
Educational Qualification M.B.B.S., Post Graduate Training in Obstetric Ultrasound
Activities of Dr. (Smt.) Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 15
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 18
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Barasat Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Barasat parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Habra AshokenagarRajarhat New Town

Last Updated on March 13, 2019