Track your constituency

Arambagh Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

Formed prior to the 1967 elections, the Lok Sabha Constituency of Arambagh is one of the 42 parliamentary constituencies of West Bengal. The Arambagh Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 29) has a total of 1,375,377 electorates out of which 659,607 are females and 715,770 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. It is reserved for the SC category, has 1,375,377 voters and comprises of seven legislative assembly segments. Arambagh is a city and headquarters of the Arambagh Division which is in the Hooghly District. It is located at an elevation of 15 m and is situated in the westernmost part of the district.

According to 2001 census data of India, the total population of the town is over 60,000 of which 62% comprises of males and 38% comprises of females. 17% of the population is under the age of six and a sex ratio of about 960 females per 1000 males. The town has an average literacy rate of 82% with male literacy at 79% and female literacy rate of 58%. Bengali, Hindi and English are the commonly used languages here. Economically, almost 60% of the people are engaged in agriculture which mainly includes cultivation of rice and potato. Several schools are located in the area, both in English and Bengali mediums. Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme provides financial aid to the district as it is one of India's 250 most backward districts.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Arambagh Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Arambagh parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Arambagh constituency is Shri Aparupa Poddar (Afrin Ali) of AITC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201429Arambagh(SC)Aparupa Poddar (Afrin Ali)FAITC748764Saktimohan MalikMCPM401919
200929Arambagh(SC)Malik,Shri Sakti Mohan MCPM630254Sambhu Nath MalikMINC428696
200428ArambaghGENAnil BasuMCPM744464Swapan Kumar NandiMBJP151962
199928ArambaghGENAnil BasuMCPM503920Chunilal ChakrabortyMBJP387199
199828ArambaghGENAnil BasuMCPM521507Chunilal ChakrabortyMBJP334207
199628ArambaghGENAnil BasuMCPM544289Monoranjan HazraMINC317956
199128ArambaghGENAnil BasuMCPM448318Sk. Hasan ImamMINC300046
198928ArambaghGENAnil BasuMCPM423062Sk Hasan ImamMINC358564
198428ArambaghGENAnil BasuMCPM327786Gopal Das NagMINC313626
198028ArambaghGENBijoy Krishna ModakMCPM285633Prafulla Chandra SenMJNP242642
197728ArambaghGENPrafulla Chandra SenMBLD298371Santi Mohan RoyMINC90934
197126ArambaghGENManoranjan HazraMCPM137842Santi Mohan Ray MINC115622
196726ArambaghGENA. BoseMFBL208724S. ChoudhuryMINC126702

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Arambagh Constituency

Name of MP Smt. Aparupa Poddar
Age 32
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Trinamool Congress
Gender Female
Educational Qualification M.A. (English), LL.B.
Activities of Smt. Aparupa Poddar in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 59
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 65
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Arambagh Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Arambagh parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Haripal Tarakeswar Pursurah
Arambagh (SC) Goghat(SC)Khanakul
Chandrakona (SC) 

Last Updated on March 13, 2019