Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Maharajganj Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

One of the 80 parliamentary constituencies of the state of Uttar Pradesh, Maharajganj came into existence in 1952. The Maharajganj Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 63) consists of 1,509,167 number of electorates in totality, of these 811,525 are males and 697,642 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It comprises of five segments of which one belongs to the SC category. Bordered by the country of Nepal on the North and the Gorakhpur District on the South, the district of Maharajganj is a part of the Gorakhpur Division and has four tehsils. Created in 1989, it has a total area of 2,952 sq km.

As per 2011 census data, it has a total population of 2,684,703 of which 51% comprises of males and 49% comprises of females. From 2001 to 2011, the population growth rate was 23.50% and the population density of the area is 909 sq km. Children below the age of six comprise of about 16% of the population and the sex ratio is 943 females per 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Maharajganj is 62.76% with male and female literacy rates at 75.85% and 48.92%. The district is one of the country's 250 most backward districts and the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme provides financial aid. The National Highway NH-29 and the State Highway SH-81 pass through the district.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Maharajganj Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Maharajganj parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Maharajganj constituency is Shri Pankaj of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201463MaharajganjGENPankajMBJP471542Kashi Nath ShuklaMBSP231084
200963MaharajganjGENVardhan,Shri Harsh MINC305474Ganesh Shanker PandeyMBSP181846
200435MaharajganjGENPankajMBJP228702Akhilesh SinghMSP163903
199939MaharajganjGENAkhilesh SinghMSP239826Pankaj ChaudharyMBJP229182
199839MaharajganjGENPankaj ChoudhariMBJP233361Akhilesh SinghMSP206421
199639MaharajganjGENPankaj ChaudharyMBJP182855Harsh VardhanMBSP149305
199139MaharajganjGENPankaj ChoudhariMBJP155650Jitendra SinghMINC121923
198939MaharajganjGENHarsh VardhanMJD157657Jitender SinghMINC142667
198439MaharajganjGENJitendra SinghMINC208692Hari Shanker TiwariMIND84218
198039MaharajganjGENAshfaq HusainMINC(I)133088Janardan Singh AzadMJNP(S)109552
197739MaharajganjGENShibban Lal SaksenaMBLD184090Raghubar PrasadMINC52099
197139MaharajganjGENSibban Lal SaxenaMIND93252Mahadeo Prasad MINC53834
196739MaharajganjGENM. PrasadMINC94864R. RatanMBJS48137
196240MaharajganjGENMahadeo PrasadMINC95469Shibban Lal SaxenaMSOC71098
195750MaharajganjGENProf. Shibban Lal SaxenaMIND92617Hari ShankerMINC64836

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Maharajganj Constituency

Name of MP Shri Pankaj Chowdhary
Age 54
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.A.
Activities of Shri Pankaj Chowdhary in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 28
Private member bills passed 2
Questions asked 272
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Maharajganj Parliamentary Constituency

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Maharajganj (SC) Paniyara

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency