Track your constituency

Kanpur General(Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Phase 3 - Lok Sabha Election 2019 Live Update Lok Sabha (General) Election 2019 – Third Phase Live Updates

The first two phases of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 are over with no less than 70% voter turnout (as declared by the Election Commission when polling for the second Read More…

Chintamani Corner - Chintamani Corner – Phase 3 Post Poll Analysis |

Lok Sabha 2019 Chintamani Election Analysis – Read Below    Chintamani Shastri is an Election Expert and he is back with his 2019 Analysis of the Lok Sabha Elections. Check Read More…

VIP Candidates - Phase 3 Lok Sabha Election 2019 VIP Battles in the Third Phase

The third phase of the Lok Sabha election 2019 is being held today. Polling is being held in 115 constituencies across 15 states and Union Territories. Voting is also being Read More…

Assembly Election 2019 Odisha Assembly Election 2019: LIVE Updates

Odisha Assembly Election Live Updates: 2:12:15 PM Odisha Chief Electoral Officer votes in Bhubaneswar Surendra Kumar, the Chief Electoral Officer of Odisha who is overseeing the entire election in the state, cast his Read More…

Phase 3 Opinion Polls 2019 Chintamani – 5Dots Opinion Poll for Third Phase

The first two phases of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 are over with no less than 70% voter turnout (as declared by the Election Commission when polling for second phase Read More…

Mayawati and Mulayam Share Stage after Two Decades Mayawati and Mulayam Share Stage after Two Decades

Overcoming more than two decades of political and personal rivalry, Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati on Friday sought votes for Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav in his turf Mainpuri, Read More…

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

Party Wise Candidate List for Lok Sabha Constituency Election 2019

Party NameLS ConstituencyCandidate Name
BJPKanpurShri Satyadev Pachuri
INCKanpurSri Prakash Jaiswal
SPKanpurShree Ram Kumar

One of the 80 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, Kanpur covers the urban area of the Kanpur district. The Kanpur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 43) has a total of 1,390,055 electorates out of which 617,664 are females and 772,391 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. Formed prior to 1951 constituency elections, this constituency currently comprises of five Vidhan Sabha segments and has a total number of 1,376,332 voters. It is the headquarters of the Kanpur District and belongs to the Kanpur Division. The city of Kanpur, nicknamed as the "Leather City", has an elevation of 126 m and spreads over an area of 605 sq km. The total population of the urban agglomeration of Kanpur is over 2,920,000 of which about 1,585,000 are males and about 1,335,000 are females. It has a sex ratio of 842 females per 1000 males. Hindi is the official and the most widely spoken language while English, Punjabi and Urdu are prevalent as well. Muslims hold a 75% majority here.

With an average literacy rate of 70.36%, Mathura has a male literacy rate of 71.92% and a female literacy rate of 60.25%. Several world renowned institutions are located here including IIT Kanpur and Harcourt Butler Technological Institute. One of the largest leather producers and exporters, Kanpur also has textile, chemical and many other industries. National Highways NH-2, NH-25, NH-86 and NH-91 connect Kanpur to a large road network with several major cities all over the country.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Kanpur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Kanpur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Kanpur constituency is Dr.Murli Manohar Joshi of BJP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201443KanpurGENDr.Murli Manohar JoshiMBJP474712Sriprakash JaiswalMINC251766
200943KanpurGENJaiswal,Shri Sriprakash MINC214988Sukhda MishraMBJP196082
200461KanpurGENShriprakash JaiswalMINC211109Satya Dev PachauriMBJP205471
199965KanpurGENSriprakash JaiswalMINC293610Jagat Veer Singh DroneMBJP259151
199865KanpurGENJagat Veer Singh DronMBJP335996Surendra Mohan AgarwalMSP199987
199665KanpurGENJagatveer Singh DronMBJP297550Subhashini AliMCPM146460
199165KanpurGENJagatveer Singh BronMBJP193275R.N. PathakMINC79654
198965KanpurGENSubhashini AliFCPM174438Jagat Vir SinghMBJP117851
198465KanpurGENNaresh Chandra ChaturvediMINC214160Sayed ShahabuddinMJNP76791
198065KanpurGENArif Mohammad KhanMINC(I)163230Maqbool Husain KureshiMJNP88049
197765KanpurGENManohar LalMBLD269629Naresh Chandra ChaturvediMINC95340
197165KanpurGENS. M. BanerjeeMIND148845Babu Ram Shukla MBJS59646
196765KanpurGENS.M. BanerjiMIND77882G. DuttMINC71365
196265KanpurGENS. M. BanerjeeMIND139039Bejoy Kumar Sinha MINC80934
195734KanpurGENS. M. BanerjeeMIND87612Surya Prasad AwasthiMINC70988

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Kanpur Constituency

Name of MP Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi
Age 84
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification M.Sc. (Physics), D. Phil.
Activities of Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 17
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 4
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Kanpur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Kanpur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Govind Nagar SishamauArya Nagar
Kidwai NagarKanpur Cantonment

Last Updated on April 3, 2019