Track your constituency

Virudhunagar Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Live Election News

Once upon a time, Bengaluru was called City of Lakes, now most of the lakes are polluted, being encroached upon: P C @PCMohanMP while discussion on Motion of Thanks on Read More…

Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury: Did you manage to catch anybody in 2G & coal allocation scam? Did you manage to send Sonia Gandhi ji & Rahul Read More…

Don’t know how long Congress-JD(S) govt in Karnataka will survive: Deve Gowda  

Latest Election News and Update

Results Live Updates 2019 Lok Sabha (General) Election Results 2019 – Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates   Exit Poll by Various Pollsters – Click Here Check Live Election Results 2019 – State Wise & Constituency Wise   21:09:15 केंद्रीय Read More…


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

Formerly Sivakasi, the parliamentary constituency of Virudhunagar came into existence post the delimitation of the constituencies and is one of the 39 constituencies of Tamil Nadu. It has 992,051 electors and is made of six legislative assembly segments. The Virudhunagar Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 34) has a total of 992,051 electorates out of which 500,734 are females and 491,317 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports. The city of Virudhunagar is the district headquarters of Virudhunagar District and is located 506 km from Chennai and 53 km from Madurai. With an average elevation of 100 m, the district has an area of 4,241 sq km and is divided into 2 revenue divisions.

Over the decade 2001-2011, with a population growth rate of 11%, the census data reports the total population of the state at 1,943,000 with a density of 458 people per sq km. Of the total population, 968,000 are males and the sex ratio is 1007 females per 1000 males. 10.15% of the total population is under the age of six. The average literacy rate of Virudhunagar is 81% with male literacy being 88% and female literacy being 73%. Tamil and English are the official languages here. The leading industries of match, fireworks and printing are located here while oil, chicory and coffee production is also a part of the economic setup. The district lies on the National Highway NH-7.

Virudhunagar Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Manickam Tagore, B.Indian National Congress4646670621647088343.81Winner
Alagarsamy, R.Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam3150550127431632929.431st Runner-up
Paramasiva Iyyappan, S.Independent107033058210761510.012nd Runner-up
Muniyasamy, V.Makkal Needhi Maiam568150314571295.323rd Runner-up
Arulmozhithevan, K.Naam Tamilar Katchi525910449530404.944th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above170870205172921.615th Runner-up
Sabari Ponraj, B.Independent56620456660.536th Runner-up
Govindan, A.Independent41940541990.397th Runner-up
Perumalsamy, M.Bahujan Samaj Party370706337700.358th Runner-up
Alagarsamy, N.Independent372301737400.359th Runner-up
Sankaranarayanan, N.Independent37010437050.3410th Runner-up
Dr.Dhanushkodi, M.Independent310801031180.2911th Runner-up
Sakkaravarthy, P.All India Puratchi Thalaivar Makkal Munnettra Kazhagam273103327640.2612th Runner-up
Senthilkumar, S.Independent27140327170.2513th Runner-up
Kalyanasundaram, A.Independent24790824870.2314th Runner-up
Sugan Rajeev, M.Independent24350124360.2315th Runner-up
Vallinayagam, N.Independent228902223110.2216th Runner-up
Manikandan, R.Ezhuchi Tamilargal Munnetra Kazhagam19640519690.1817th Runner-up
Balachandar, N.Independent18120218140.1718th Runner-up
Kavitha, A.Ahila India Dhayaga Makkal Munnetra Katchi1632013317650.1619th Runner-up
Ganeshkumar, S.Independent16220216240.1520th Runner-up
Packiaraj, E.Tamil Nadu Ilangyar Katchi152901615450.1421th Runner-up
Advocate.Thangapandian, M.Independent14950715020.1422th Runner-up
Palanichamy Kudumbar, P.Independent10600510650.123th Runner-up
Elango, S.Independent935029370.0924th Runner-up
Thiagarajan, P.I.D.Independent850038530.0825th Runner-up
Selvakumar, M.Independent842048460.0826th Runner-up
Backiyaraj, K.Independent822038250.0827th Runner-up
Umayorubagam, M.Independent788017890.0728th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Virudhunagar Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Virudhunagar parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Virudhunagar constituency is Shri Radhakrishnan T. of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201434VirudhunagarGENRadhakrishnan TMAIADMK406694VaikoMMDMK261143
200934VirudhunagarGENTagore,Shri Manicka MINC307187VaikoMMDMK291423

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Virudhunagar Constituency

Name of MP Shri T. Radhakrishnan
Age 63
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Inter/Higher Secondary
Activities of Shri T. Radhakrishnan in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 9
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 695
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Virudhunagar Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Virudhunagar parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on July 6, 2019