Track your constituency

Theni Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Live Election News

Once upon a time, Bengaluru was called City of Lakes, now most of the lakes are polluted, being encroached upon: P C @PCMohanMP while discussion on Motion of Thanks on Read More…

Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury: Did you manage to catch anybody in 2G & coal allocation scam? Did you manage to send Sonia Gandhi ji & Rahul Read More…

Don’t know how long Congress-JD(S) govt in Karnataka will survive: Deve Gowda  

Latest Election News and Update

Results Live Updates 2019 Lok Sabha (General) Election Results 2019 – Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates   Exit Poll by Various Pollsters – Click Here Check Live Election Results 2019 – State Wise & Constituency Wise   21:09:15 केंद्रीय Read More…


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

One of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu, Theni Lok Sabha Constituency was formed post the 2008 delimitation of parliamentary constituencies and has six Vidhan Sabha segments, four belong to the Theni District and the rest two belong to the Madurai District. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Theni Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 33) were 1,074,931 of which 538,300 are females and 536,631 are males. Two of these constituencies are reserved for the SC category and the total number of electors under this constituency is 1,074,931. Theni District lies east of Kerala over area of 2,868 sq km. It has five talukas and 33.7% of the total district area is under forest coverage.

As per the census of 2011, the district has a population of 1,245,899 with 52% males and 48% females. Over the last decade, the district had a population growth rate of 13.89 and a population density of 434 inhabitants per sq km. The sex ratio here is 991 females per 1000 males and about 12% of the population is under the age of six. The average literacy rate is 77.26 with male and female literacy rates of 85.03% and 69.46% respectively. Economically, agriculture and tourism are the primary economic activities of the district. The National Highways, NH-45, NH-49, NH-85 and NH-220 pass through the district.

Theni Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Raveendranath Kumar, PAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam5034590135450481343.02Winner
Elangovan, E.V.K.S.Indian National Congress4257850233542812036.481st Runner-up
Thanga TamilselvanIndependent143173087714405012.282nd Runner-up
Shagul HameedNaam Tamilar Katchi274380426278642.373rd Runner-up
Radhakrishnan, S.Makkal Needhi Maiam167080171168791.444th Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above105530133106860.915th Runner-up
AnnakiliIndependent522603252580.456th Runner-up
Silambarasan, P.Independent41910741980.367th Runner-up
Allikkodi, P.Samajwadi Forward Bloc402402040440.348th Runner-up
Arumugam, S.Bahujan Samaj Party367609437700.329th Runner-up
Alexpandian, S.Independent318902832170.2710th Runner-up
Chinnasathiyamoorthy, T.Socialist Unity Centre Of India (Communist)25900725970.2211th Runner-up
Senthilkumar, J.Independent21720021720.1912th Runner-up
Sivamuniyandi, A.Independent19020619080.1613th Runner-up
Kesavaraja, J.Independent180401118150.1514th Runner-up
Parthipan, G.Independent18090418130.1515th Runner-up
Kumaragurubaran, P.Independent15960616020.1416th Runner-up
Ravichandran, K.Independent10370610430.0917th Runner-up
Vaiyathurai, A.Independent10220010220.0918th Runner-up
Velmurugan, S.P.Independent926009260.0819th Runner-up
Prakash, P.Independent832078390.0720th Runner-up
EswaranIndependent797068030.0721th Runner-up
Ramaraj, G.Ulzaipali Makkal Katchy7540257790.0722th Runner-up
GunasinghIndependent719057240.0623th Runner-up
Rajarishigurudev, S.Independent613016140.0524th Runner-up
Jeyamani, K.Independent449034520.0425th Runner-up
Manimurugan, C.Independent352013530.0326th Runner-up
Ramachandran, K.Independent289022910.0227th Runner-up
Rajkumar, P.Independent288022900.0228th Runner-up
Rajasekaran, V.Independent273012740.0229th Runner-up
Ramamurthi, S.Independent273002730.0230th Runner-up

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Theni Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Theni parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Theni constituency is Shri Parthipan, R. of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201433TheniGENParthipan, R.MAIADMK571254Pon. MuthuramalingamMDMK256722
200933TheniGENAaroon Rasheed,Shri J.M. MINC340575Thanga TamilselvanMADMK334273

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Theni Constituency

Name of MP Shri R.Parthipan
Age 55
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.A. (Political Science)
Activities of Shri R.Parthipan in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 22
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 259
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Theni Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Theni parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Sholavandan (SC)UsilampattiAndipatti
Periyakulam (SC)BodinayakkanurCumbum

Last Updated on July 6, 2019