Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
Karnataka Election Result 2018

Sivaganga Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Sivaganga Lok Sabha Election 2014 Summary

In Sivaganga, Senthilnathan PR of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam won the Lok Sabha election defeating Dhurai Raaj Subha of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam by a good margin of 229385 votes. Raja H of Bharatiya Janata Party came third with 133763 votes. This was Senthilnathan PR's first Lok Sabha election. He is the Devakottai Union Chairman and party's district secretary.

In the last Lok Sabha elections in 2009, this seat was won by Union Home Minister P Chidambaram of Congress who had garnered 334348 votes, defeating All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam's Raja Kannappan by a slender margin of 3354 votes.

One of the 39 constituencies of Tamil Nadu, Sivaganga Lok Sabha Constituency comprises of six legislative assembly segments. The Sivaganga Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 30) consists of 1,092,438 number of electorates in totality, of these 534,518 are males and 557,920 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It came into existence post the 2008 delimitation of parliamentary constituencies and has over 1,090,000 voters. Sivaganga, or Sivagangai is the center of administration of the Sivaganga District which covers an area of 4,189 sq km. It is bounded by the districts of Pudukkottai, Ramanathapuram, Virudhunagar, Tiruchirapalli and Madurai.

As per 2011 census data, it has a population of 1,339,101 with 668,672 males and 670,429 females. The district had a population growth of about 16% and has a population density of 316 per sq km. Children constitute about 11% of the population and the sex ratio is 1003 females per 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Sivaganga is 80% with male literacy rate of 88% and female literacy rate of 72%. Tamil is the official language here. It is one of the 250 most backward districts of India and hence the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme provides economic aid to it. Almost 73% of the workforce is involved in agriculture and small scale industries are also located here. The district has an extensive road network including NH-85, NH-208 and NH-226.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Sivaganga Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Sivaganga parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Sivaganga constituency is Shri Senthilnathan Pr of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201431SivagangaGENSenthilnathan PrMAIADMK475993Dhurai Raaj SubhaMDMK246608
200931SivagangaGENChidambaram,Shri Palaniappan MINC334348Raja Kannappan R.S.MADMK330994
200433SivagangaGENChidambaram, P.MINC400393Karuppiah. S PMADMK237668
199933SivagangaGENSudarsana Natchiappan,E.M.MINC246078Raja.H.MBJP222267
199833SivagangaGENChidambaram, P.MTMC(M)303854Kalimuthu, K.MADMK244713
199633SivagangaGENChidambaram P.MTMC(M)418774Gowrishankaran M.MINC171472
199133SivagangaGENChindambaram P.MINC402029Kasinathan V.MDMK173432
198933SivagangaGENChidambaram, P.MINC430290Ganesan, A.MDMK210738
198433SivagangaGENP. ChidambaramMINC377160Tha KrutinanMDMK164627
198033SivagangaGENSwaminathan R.V.MINC(I)306748Pandian D.MCPI172187
197733SivagangaGENP.ThiagarajanMADK338999R. Ramanathan ChettiarMNCO127466
197133SivagangaGENTha KiruttinanMDMK273194Kannappa Valliappan MNCO173106

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Sivaganga Constituency

Name of MP Shri P.R. Senthilnathan
Age 51
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Sc., LL.B
Activities of Shri P.R. Senthilnathan in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 40
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 393
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Sivaganga Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Sivaganga parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
ThirumayamAlangudi Karaikudi
TirupatturSivagangaManamadurai (SC)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency