Track your constituency

Live News

Karaikudi (Tamil Nadu) Election Results 2016

Tamil Nadu Assembly Election Results Live


About Karaikudi Assembly Constituency

Karaikudi is constituency No. 184 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. This unreserved constituency is situated in Sivaganga District. It comes under the Sivaganga Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, Karaikudi has 1,12,622 male, 1,14,312 female and a total of 2,26,934 registered voters.

The AIADMK won this seat by a margin of 18,900 votes in the 2011 assembly elections. It was an important win for the party. The AIADMK had last won this seat in the 1991 elections. Palanichamy Cholan Ct., the winning candidate, got 86,104 votes. Incumbent INC was the runner-up with 67,204 votes. Ramasamy Kr. represented INC from this seat. The voter turnout was 74.45 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Karaikudi Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Karaikudi assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2006195KaraikudiGENSundaram.NMINC64013Venkatachalam O.LMAIADMK47767
2001195KaraikudiGENRaja. HMBJP54093Udayappan. SpMTMC(M)52442
1996195KaraikudiGENSundaram, N.MTMC(M)76888Raju M.MADMK26504
1991195KaraikudiGENKarpagam M.FADK71912Chidambaram C. T.MDMK33601
1989195KaraikudiGENNarayanan Rm.MDMK45790Durairasu SpMADK(JR)21305
1984195KaraikudiGENS.P. DurairasuMADK47760C.T. ChidambaramMDMK38101
1980195KaraikudiGENChidambaram, C. T.MDMK46541Kaliappan, P.MADK42648
1977195KaraikudiGENP. KaliyappanMADK27403P. ChidambaramMINC27163
1971193KaraikudiGENC. T. ChidambaramMDMK39986S. P. R. RamaswamyMSWA26858

Last Updated on May 13, 2016