Track Your Constituency

Karur Election Results 2014

Karur Parliamentary Constituency 2014 Election Results

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2014 lok sabha election in Karur.

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2014 AIADMK WinnerThambidurai,M. 540722
2014 DMK Runner UpChinnasamy, M. 345475
YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2009 AIADMKWinnerThambidurai,Dr. Munisamy 380542

List of candidates of Karur constituency for 2014

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from the Karur Constituency in the Tamil Nadu General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014.

Karur , Constituency No -(23)
Election Date24/04/2014 
Result Date16/05/2014 
Election SymbolPartyCandidate Name
BSPMaruthaiveeran, V.
AIADMK Thambidurai,M.
AAPValaiyapathi, R.
INCJothimani, S.
DMK Chinnasamy, M.
INDKannan, S.
INDKannan, P.
INDGowrimani, S.
INDChinnasamy, M.
INDChinnasamy, V.
INDSelvaraj, S.
INDThamilalagan, A.
INDBalasubramanian, G.
INDPrakash, N.
INDMahendran, T.
INDManickavasagam, A.
INDMurugaan, N.
INDRavi, S.P.
INDVigneshwaran, M.
INDVijay, J.
RSPManeeshankar, M.G.
SPMurugesan, M.

DMDKKrishnan, N.S.

CPI(ML)RSaraswathy, K.

UMKRavichandran, V.

One of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu, the Lok Sabha Constituency of Karur was formed in 1957 elections and has six Vidhan Sabha segments with one being reserved for the SC category. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Karur Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 23) were 1,012,924 of which 508,725 are females and 504,199 are males. The total number of electors under this constituency is over 1,013,000. Karur District lies in the centre of the state covering an area of about 2,904 sq km. It has five talukas and 200 villages with its headquarters located in the city of Karur which is 370 km from Chennai. Tamil is the official language here.

As per the census of 2011, the total population of Karur is over 1,065,000 with male population of 528,000 and female population of 537,000. Over the last decade of 2001-2011, the district witnessed a population growth rate of about 14% and currently has a population density of 367 people per sq km. The sex ratio here is 1015 females per 1000 males and about 102,000 of the population are under the age of six. The average literacy rate is 76% with male and female literacy rates of 85% and 67% respectively. Economically, cultivation of banana, sugarcane and pulses as well as textile, paper and cement industries benefits Karur. The National Highways, NH-7 and NH-67 pass through the district connecting Karur to nearby cities.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Karur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Karur parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Karur constituency is Thambidurai,M. of AIADMK.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPSexPartyVoteRunner Up MPSexPartyVote
201423KarurGENThambidurai,M.MAIADMK540722Chinnasamy, M.MDMK345475
200923KarurGENThambidurai,Dr. Munisamy MAIADMK380542Pallanishamy. K.CMDMK333288
200426KarurGENPalanisamy, K. C.MDMK450407Palanichamy, Raja. NMADMK259531
199926KarurGENChinnasamy, M.MADMK334407Palanisamy, K.C.MDMK331560
199826KarurGENThambi Durai.MMADMK327480Natrayan. KMTMC(M)283807
199126KarurGENMurugesan N.MADK475571Thirunavukkarasu D.MDMK205602
198926KarurGENThambithurai, M.MADK484492Palanisamy. K.C.MDMK245741
198426KarurGENMurugaiah A. R.MINC413533Kandaswamy, M.MDMK177970
198026KarurGENDorai Sebastian S.A.MINC(I)281149Kanagaraj K.MADK207015
197726KarurGENGopal K.MINC315259Meenakshisundaram M.FNCO169739
197125KarurGENGopalMINC238315V. Ramanathan MNCO165022

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in Karur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Karur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Krishnarayapuram (SC)ManapparaiViralimalai

Last Updated on January 14, 2014

Compare Infobase Limited
(ISO 9001:2000 Certified Company)
Copyright All right reserved