Track your constituency

Live News

Kanyakumari (Tamil Nadu) Election Results 2016

About Kanyakumari Assembly Constituency

Kanyakumari is constituency No. 229 of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly. It is situated in the district which goes by the same name. It is part of the Lok Sabha constituency Tiruchendur. It is an unreserved constituency.

According to data compiled by the Election Commission of India in 2011, Kanyakumari has 2,37,865 registered voters. There are 1,20,632 male and 1,17,211 female voters. This constituency mainly comprises the communities of Nadars, Vellalars, Dalits and Meenavars.

In the 2011 assembly elections, Patchaimal.K.T of AIADMK won this seat by a margin of 17,804 votes. The DMK mascot Suresh Rajan N. was the runner-up. Patchaimal won 86,903 votes while Rajan got 69,099. The voter turnout was 75.80%.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kanyakumari Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kanyakumari assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerSex PartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
2011229KanyakumariGENPatchaimal.K.TMAIADMK86903Suresh Rajan.NMDMK69099
2006228KanyakumariGENSuresh Rajan.NMDMK63181Thalavai Sundaram.NMAIADMK52494
1996228KanyakumariGENN. Suresh RajanMDMK42755S. Thanu PillaiMADMK20892
1991228KanyakumariGENAmmamuthu M.MADK54194Krishnan C.MDMK19835
1989228KanyakumariGENSubramonia Pillai, K.MDMK33376Aurmugham Pillai V.MINC31037
1984228KanyakumariGENPerumal Pillay, K.MADK45353Sankaraligom, M.MDMK37696
1980228KanyakumariGENMuthukrishnan, S.MADK35613Mathevan Pillai, A.MINC(I)28515
1977228KanyakumariGENC. KrishnanMADK23222T.C. Subramania PillayMJNP16010
1971228KanyakumariGENRajah Pillai K.MDMK35884Mahadevan Pillai B.MNCO31326

Last Updated on May 13, 2016